Might as well face it

“Fanaticism for anything is addiction.”  ~ Unknown

Back in the ‘80s, Robert Palmer released the song, “Addicted to Love.”  I’m fairly certain it was that decade, but my recollection of the 80’s is kind of dim.

You see I was addicted back then.  Oh no, not addiction to any kind of substance.  Instead, I was addicted to something I wasn’t getting enough of…sleep.

The 80’s were my decade of birthing children and moving our household from place to place, so I tend to remember that decade as being in a fog.   My world  revolved around having babies, nursing them, cleaning up after them, and packing up all of our belongings.

Three children and five moves later, that decade of daze ended and I finally started getting enough sleep again to realize what was happening in the world outside my window.

Somehow through it all, I remembered that song and I found it running through my mind the other day when one of my blogging buddies, Dor at Virginia Views, nominated me for the Addictive Blog Award.  I truly feel honored that she finds my writing addictive.  I know I’m definitely a fan of her blog!

It’s true that I definitely have found myself addicted again.  Yes, I’m a fanatic.  No, I’m not addicted to any kind of substance (unless you count sweet tea!).  Instead, I’m addicted to blogging – both writing my own and reading all the fun, entertaining, inspiring, and amazing blogs out there in cyberspace.

Just for fun, I searched online for the lyrics to “Addicted To Love” and I found they aptly describe my blogging addiction!  Here they are with my little side notes:

Your lights are on, but you’re not home  [My blog lights up online, but right now I’m too busy to write  much.]
Your mind is not your own  [True, my mind is too consumed with going bridal right now.]
Your heart sweats, your body shakes  [I’m missing my blogging ‘fixes,’ I tell ya!]
Another kiss is what it takes  [Just a little kiss of reading my friends’ blogs would be so nice, but who has time for kissing?]

You can’t sleep, you can’t eat  [Too much on my plate keeps me awake at night, and it’s not food.  And then there are all those ideas for new posts rolling around in my brain.]
There’s no doubt, you’re in deep  [Been seriously blogging for over 2 years now, although I started my first blog a few years ago.]
Your throat is tight, you can’t breathe  [Look at all my friends’ blog posts lined up in my Reader! Finding enough time to read them all is giving me a panic attack!]
Another kiss is all you need  [Sweet comments here and there lets me know my blog’s not forgotten during my hiatus!]

You like to think that you’re immune to the stuff…oh yeah  [Sure, I can take a break from blogging without a problem…oh yeah (sarcasm)]
It’s closer to the truth to say you can’t get enough  [Oh, how I miss blogging, it’s true, I can’t get enough!]
You know you’re gonna have to face it, You’re addicted to love  [You know I’m gonna have to face it, I’m addicted to blogging!]

Might as well face it you’re addicted to love.   [Yeah, I get the message.]

Well, while I’m confessing here, I’m also gonna have to face it, I’m addicted to blog awards.  It’s a sweet kiss of friendship and appreciation to be nominated for a blog award, and I gratefully accept those gifts of blogger love.

Just recently, one of my readers commented that my cup is overflowing right now due to all our family weddings.  Well, it seems my cup overflows in the blogging world too.

Not only did I receive the Addictive Blog Award last week, but also was nominated for three others: Thinking of You from Dianna at These Days of Mine and One Lovely Blog and Versatile Blog both from Kate at Believe Anyway.

Blog awards are great because they provide a little feedback for the writer.  You realize that people do read your posts and they like what they read.  That feeds anyone’s addiction.

But for me, the best part of the awards is they often come from fellow bloggers that I’ve made such an amazing connection with.  These gals really float my boat with their own writing.  Thank you, Dor, Dianna, and Kate!  Even though we’ve never met in real life, I feel like you are the dearest of friends!

I’d prefer not to lump all of the blog award acceptances into one post, but in the interest of time, I am doing just that.  Forgive me, my sweet blogging award friends.

The Addictive Blog Award rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog. Dor, you are a true gem!  Thank you so much.
  • Share a little bit about why you started blogging.  I’ve always been a writer and found it easy to put my feelings and thoughts into words since I was a child.  But as a busy wife and mom raising children, running a household, doing volunteer work, and eventually working at a part-time job for a non-profit organization, writing wasn’t a priority.  I actually started a blog seven years ago when I was recuperating from cancer surgery.  But once I recovered, I stopped writing in it.   After my nest became empty, I finally had free time on my hands – and peace and quiet  – to start blogging once again.  This time, writing helped me express the emotions of all the major life changes I was experiencing.
  • Copy and post the award onto your own blog.  Boom, done, finished!
  • Nominate up to ten other bloggers you think are addictive enough to deserve the award.  Here are some of my addictions:
  1. Montana Outdoors
  2. Writing for Daisies 
  3. The View Out Here
  4. Life As I See It
  5. Georgette Sullins Blog
  6. These Days of Mine
  7. The Fearless Cooking Club
  8. In Wonder
  9. Dividing By Zero
  10. Grace For My Mess

Thinking of You Award rules:

  •  Link back to the sender.  Dianna, you are another true gem!  I keep thinking someday we’re going to meet!
  • Tell seven things that I love and that I think about daily:
  1. My relationship with my Savior, Jesus Christ.
  2. My family.  I love my husband, my kids, and their beloveds.  Not a day goes by that I don’t think about how blessed I am to have them.
  3. My friends.  I have some of the most loyal, long-lasting friendships.  Some are silver and some are gold (a reference to the old song “Make New Friends, But Keep the Old.”  Some are nearby, some are far-away, but I love every one of these gals!
  4. Life in the country.  Just the other day on a trip to suburbia, hubby and I discussed how much we love our simple and quiet rural life.
  5. Tea.  I’m not a coffee person, but each morning when I awake, I think of having my nice hot cup of tea.  Before caffeine bothered me enough to keep me up at night, I used to have a hot cup of tea in the a.m. and another one before I went to bed.  Now if there’s tea in the evening, it better be herbal or decaffeinated or Mama’s not getting any sleep!
  6. Photography.  Even though I am just a very inexperienced amateur, I love taking pictures and looking at other photographers’ shots.  Every day, I keep an eye open for an interesting picture to capture.  Someday I hope to afford a better camera.
  7. Blogging.  Blogging has opened up a new world for me and I think has made me a better writer.  But more importantly, it’s given me an amazing community – another circle of friends – that I longed for, but didn’t realize it.  And there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about writing in my blog.  Alas, right now blogging is low man on my totem pole.
  • Pass the award to seven other blogs:
  1. Homestead Ramblings
  2. Nikole Hahn’s Journal
  3. Inspired Vision
  4. Sharon McElwrath Writes
  5. Coming East
  6. Living in Graceland
  7. Watkins Every Flavor Beans

Rules for One Lovely Blog Award and Versatile Blogger Award:

  • Give generous thanks to the blogger that nominated you.  Thank you, thank you, thank you, Kate!
  • Write seven things about yourself. Can I please cheat and refer to the list of seven things in the above award?
  • Make a list of 15 bloggers you admire and let them know how awesome they are! These folks are the next round of honorees for the One Lovely Blog Award and The Versatile Blogger Award.  Can I cheat again and nominate all of the bloggers I mentioned above???  Every one of them is worthy of this award and many, many more such awards.  Please go visit their sites and let them know how amazing they are.

If you’re like me, you might as well face it, you’re addicting to blogging!

Copyright ©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

17 responses

  1. Mama’s — I’m so happy you’ve been so well celebrated with all these fantastic blog awards! 🙂 CONGRATULATIONS to you — my what a busy and wonderful year you are having. I hear you about the baby fog. A special time indeed, but definitely worthy of that term. I really enjoyed reading your acceptance post, and learning some new things about you. However, have I forgotten — or did I never know — that you had cancer surgery? Oh wow. What was it for? Are you in remission now? Recovered? I will say a special prayer for you, for continued good health. You were such a source of support as my own family went through my son’s most recent surgery, and I am very thankful to have “met” you through blogging. Many happy wishes coming your way, and thank you so much for sharing such a great award with me; I’m honored to be included among so many fantastic writers!

    Like

    • Melissa, thanks, and you’re very welcome!! You are such an encourager, and I appreciate that so much about you. It’s been a privilege and pleasure getting to ‘know’ you through our blogs. I’m hoping you’ve been making sweet memories with your little ones this summer, but I sure do miss reading your blog. Yes, I am an endometrial cancer survivor. It’s not something I talk a lot about, so that’s probably why you didn’t know. I feel very blessed that it was early stage, had not spread, and was very treatable with surgery and a few rounds of radiation for extra good measure. As any cancer survivor will tell you, the thought that the disease could return is always in the back of your mind, so I welcome and appreciate your prayers for good health just as I will continue to keep your sweet boy in my prayers too! 🙂

      Like

  2. It seems to be Award Week here in Blogland: I’ve received two that I need to write acceptance posts for…..perhaps in the next day or two! congrats and thanks for all your sweet comments sent in my direction! I, too, hope we can meet in person one day!

    Like

    • Blessings in Blogland are sure making the rounds! 😉 Couldn’t happen to a sweeter person than you, Dianna. We’re going to have to figure out some kind of plan for meeting some day. After all, Virginia isn’t that far away from Pennsylvania and since you’ve already been within a few miles of my neck of the woods (I remember that sleigh ride post of yours), I’m thinking hubby and I need a trip south one of these days.

      Like

  3. I still learn more and more about you. One of these days we need to have an East coast reunion! I’m visualizing slumber party now with so many wonderful blogging friends. I wonder would we sleep or stay up all night?
    Thank you for this honor. It is an honor when the ones you look forward to reading and sharing give you a nod. Thank you.

    Like

  4. Hey Patty, I really like the new look of your blog! To copy and paste the blog award, just right click on the picture on my post. That will give you a menu to do what you want, either click ‘copy’ if you’re going to paste it immediately onto your blog or click ‘save as’ and save it to your computer for using it later. I’m not too tech savvy either, but that’s the way I do it. Hope that helps!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

