When temps rise, call me done

Roll out those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer…

Let’s see…lazy? Check.  That’s exactly how I feel.  I’m finding it hard to be motivated to do anything.  My house needs cleaned, there are two more bridal showers to help plan, and of course, two more weddings.   The garden needs weeding.  My blog is neglected.  The only thing that fires me up enough to post is a few photos here and there on Wordless Wednesdays.  Contemplating using enough brain power to write a new post makes me want to go take a nap or veg in front of the TV watching endless shows on HGTV or TLC.

Hazy?  Check.  It’s hot and humid with temps during the day hovering around the 90 degree mark.  Add in the humidity and hazy you get.   Just like my mind.  Did I already say I have no brain power for writing??

Crazy?  Um… well, I’m not the one who posted this version of that summertime song on YouTube. 

Yesterday was the first official day of summer, actually one of my least favorite seasons.  As a youngster, just like any other kid, I loved summer because it meant no school, playing outside all day and into the long evenings, swimming in my neighbor’s pool, picnics, staying up late, and sleeping in mornings.

When I was still a busy mom with three kids in the nest, summer was a reprieve.  No school, not as many sports activities (except Little League baseball), and a slower pace of life.  I loved having the kids at home and we all just relaxed and enjoyed our long summer days together and occasional vacations to the beach.

But as the kids started exiting the nest and I aged (and hit menopausal symptoms), I realized that summer just wasn’t my cup of tea (unless of course, it’s served over a tall glass filled with ice!).

Summer sizzles and even though I like its sunshine and longer days, I’m more of a cool weather person.  To all of my Southern friends, bless your hearts, I don’t know how you stand the steaminess.   A hot house flower I am not because summer’s heat and humidity just make me wilt.   And when I wilt, I’m lethargic and downright sluggish.  The inactivity combined with staying inside air conditioning makes me a little daft as well.   Just stick a fork in me and call me done!

So when it’s hazy, and I’m feeling extremely lazy, it tends to drive me crazy.

“What dreadful hot weather we have! It keeps me in a continual state of inelegance.” ~  Jane Austen

Copyright ©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

14 responses

  1. Aw…..summer temps can be hard to deal with. A friend and I were just e-mailing today about the days when we were growing up WITHOUT A/C!! Now it’s hard to imagine. Stay cool, girlfriend!

    Like

  2. Great post Mama, even if you were en route to the TV. I’m with you on wilting in a heat wave. Prefer Spring and Summer now and pleasantly cool breezes. In the 90’s here in VA today rendering me and the dog totally useless. Like you say, “…call me done.” 🙂

    Like

    • After watching more house-hunting shows on HGTV and Say Yes to the Dress episodes on TLC than I care to admit, I finally did go outside to pick some blueberries (and sweltered and worked up a sweat doing so). So I joined you and your dog in the useless category. 😉

      Like

  3. I’m sure with you on this! Today we took an abrupt jump from the 50’s to the 80’s and my lethargy kicked into high gear. I can’t believe that I survived all of those years in Arizona!

    Like

    • Those jumps in temps are killers! I find as I get older my body just doesn’t adjust to fast changes like that. I know what you mean — we lived in Oklahoma for several years. How did I survive those temps of 100+ degrees? I was younger. 😀

      Like

  4. Like Dianna, I grew up with out AC ( in Central Florida!), I moved to Ohio when my youngest was 5 now 23 and even though the summers are less brutal here it still makes me lazy, but I can never tell that to my poor sisters and mom still living down home!

    Like

    • Well, neighbor, I grew up here in PA, lived in the southwest for a few years (hot, hot summers), then the midwest for a few more years (hot AND humid), and then in the balmy Pacific Northwest for a few more (even when it occasionally gets hot there, it’s never humid so it was quite bearable). Since moving back to PA, I can’t seem to get used to the humidity (and it’s been years!) Thanks for stopping by today! 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

