An ice cube told me so

It happens every single time.

It frustrates me, it exasperates me, and when I’m in a hurry, it even makes me infuriated.

Yet it is something so trivial, so irrelevant, so trifling that honestly, it’s not worth the effort it takes getting aggravated.

But this situation transpires every solitary day, sometimes several times a day, and it completely exacerbates me.

You’re probably gearing up to read a rant from me about some injustice in the world, or some terrible wrong that occurred.  Truly, my beef today in my book of Opportunity has nothing to do with the unfairness of the world, or prejudice, or some grievance I have.

You may think I’m daft but my problem has to do with… ice cubes.  Okay, I warned you that it was an inconsequential thing!  But my ice cube situation reminded me of something significantly noteworthy and I feel certain I must share what I realized.

Here at Mama’s Empty Nest, we don’t have a fancy-dancy refrigerator.  Over 12 years ago, as we prepared to move into our newly built house here in the homeland, we incurred so many expenses that we chose to purchase a fairly simple white refrigerator.

The only requirement needed was an ice-maker of some sort because I am an ice cube junkie.  Since a refrigerator with an ice cube/water dispenser on the door was not in our budget, we settled for an inside the freezer type ice-maker.

Our trusty ice giver has served us well, dishing up multitudes of ice cubes at my beck and call.   It has survived countless rounds of teenage parties and sleepovers, family picnics, graduation galas, family holiday dinners, and middle of the night middle-age hot flashes (and there were LOTS of those!).

I truly would be lost without my ice-maker because when I drink cold beverages they must be icy cold, even chilled water from the refrigerator must have ice floating in it.  Told you I was an ice cube junkie!

So my complaint is not that the ice-maker has gone on the fritz, it hasn’t.  It still molds and makes cubes to meet my demands and I’m grateful for it.  But here’s the part of the story that always ticks me off.

Because the ice-maker is inside the top freezer portion of the fridge, I must open the door and scoop up the cubes with my hand (it’s clean, I promise!) then deposit them into my glass.  Every time I do so, at least one wily and rambunctious cube escapes from my hand, lands on the hardwood floor, and slides and glides with abandon to far reaches of the kitchen.

Every time!!  And often an avalanche of ice cubes jump out of my hand in escape mode.  So to avoid wet little puddles here and there on the kitchen floor, I must stop to retrieve them.  I know this doesn’t sound like a big deal, but when it happens without fail each time I reach into the freezer for ice, it irritates me.

Why such a minor, paltry incidence gets the best of me, I cannot say.  I can only reiterate that it infuriates me especially when I’m loading up my travel mug with ice and water to scurry out of the house for work or another engagement.

So the other day, when, yet again, those pesky little cubes that I have a love/hate relationship with jumped ship straight from my hand to the floor, I became angry.   But then as I indignantly exclaimed, “NOT AGAIN!!!”,  a sobering thought coursed through my mind.

Immediately, I thought how God must feel each and every time, several times a day in some cases, when I fail to acknowledge Him, or give Him thanks, or praise Him, or I fall once again into the same old sin pattern I’ve had for so long.

When I jump from His hand of guidance to free fall, does He think, “NOT AGAIN!”?  When I willingly escape from the straight path He set me on and choose my own sinful way, falling yet again, does He sigh with righteous indignation when He picks me back up?  When I don’t follow His Word, which is His guidebook for me, does He get annoyed and let off steam?

As I gathered the willy-nilly ice cubes and their bits broken off by the fall, and then tossed them into the kitchen sink, I realized God never, ever tosses me aside.  Not even when I’m rebellious, not even when I’ve really made a mess.  He lovingly restores me, guides me, directs me, and more importantly He forgives me.

The God of the universe shows unconditional love and patience with me, someone who is as inconsequential in the world as an ice cube.  Since I was a little girl, God has always been a major part of my life, so He has formed me and molded me into the person He wanted me to become.

And yet I stray, I fall into sin, and I forget to give Him thanks in all things.  But He loves me anyway and continues to hold me in the palm of His hand.  He doesn’t angrily throw me away each time I fall.

And that’s what my rebellious ice cubes reminded me.

“The Lord is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.  The Lord is good to all; He has compassion on all He has made.  All your works praise you, Lord; your faithful people extol you. They tell of the glory of your kingdom and speak of your might, so that all people may know of your mighty acts and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.  Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures through all generations.  The Lord is trustworthy in all He promises and faithful in all He does. The Lord upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.” ~ Psalm 145:8-14

Copyright ©2012 mamasemptynestwordpress.com

10 responses

  1. That has to be the way coolest thing ever. What an awesome example and isn’t it cool of God to show you that? I know God has a sense of humor when He shows me things like this.
    Jeanie

    Like

    • For sure, Jeanie! God must be chuckling as I yell, “not again!!” AGAIN. I love it when He reminds me of His promises from something so simple and a part of everyday life. Thanks for reading and also for the comment!

      Like

    • Oh yes, ‘slip sliding away,’ that’s exactly what those ice cubes do to me. And guess what? This morning as I filled my water bottle for work with ice, those darn things tried to jump out of my hand again! But I corralled them into the freezer before they could drop to the floor. They are currently hiding in the freezer drawer behind the frozen ravioli probably plotting their revenge. But I will master those slippery imps yet! Paul Simon, I think it was indeed. Got me singing now, ‘you know the nearer your destination, the more you slip sliding away.”

      Like

  2. Ii think there’s a song – “Little Things Mean A Lot.” Sometimes it’s the little things that just try your patience, but I know you. I know from your writings how very patient and loving you are. Don’t let a little ice cube get you down. Use tongs maybe? 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve heard that song! Little things DO mean a lot in more ways than one. And sometimes those little things drive us crazy. Thanks for the good suggestion, Dor. Tongs would be an excellent idea but I’m always in too big of a rush to get them out of the kitchen drawer. Slow down, you’re going too fast needs to be my motto! 😉

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

