To make a dream come true

Many years ago, I read the poem Dreams, written by Langston Hughes.  The words of this poem have stayed with me to this day:

“Hold fast to dreams for if dreams die

Life is a broken-winged bird  that cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams for when dreams go

Life is a barren field frozen with snow.”

I’ve been thinking about dreams during my day of Opportunity today.  I’m sure that all three of my grown-up children are floating along in a kind of dreamlike state,  believing their dreams have finally come true.  They all have found their true loves and a trip down the matrimonial aisle is imminent in the very near future.

Do dreams come true?  Yes, often.  We must work to make some dreams happen,  summon up the courage needed to forge forward to make them reality.   But what about the dreams we experience while we sleep? Those nighttime dreams, do they ever come true?

I dream a lot while I sleep, but I’m not much of a day-dreamer.  That practical, realist side of me usually wins the day, so instead of passing time imagining a dream world, I’m usually busy actually doing something, but often I wish I could learn to day-dream a little more.

Day dreaming seems creative and surely must give one a strong sense of escape and relaxation, which sounds good to me.  My night time dreams can give me that same sense, but there’s always the possibility of nightmares lurking in the subconscious and I’ve had my fair share of those as well.

Occasionally, I have a faint recollection that I dreamed something and can’t quite recall what it was, but for the most part I usually remember my night time dreams.  The moving pictures in my brain can be pretty zany at times making absolutely no sense at all.

Other times, they are vivid and so realistic, I awaken thinking the event actually occurred.  (Ask my husband how many times I’ve awakened angry at him for something foolish he did only in my dream!) Often, I can relate my dreams to something I’d been watching on TV, or reading, or even pondering.  Even the jumbled up, mish mash sequences that constitute my dreams can often be explained this way.

Every once in a while though, I have a dream that just seems to emerge out of nowhere.  Its source is as vague and foggy as the setting for a mystery movie might be.  When that happens, it puzzles me and one night last week, I had such a dream.

My family knows a young family who has a special needs child, a delightful, joyful little one who in her current condition cannot walk.  The family actively pursues therapy that has enabled this child to make some amazing strides from where she once was and I keep current with these milestones through Facebook (see, it is good for something!).  I know it is this family’s dream for their child to reach her fullest potential and they are working so diligently to make that happen.

I haven’t had much time lately to check out her progress on her Facebook page though.  Facebook is such a time-sucker for me.  And free time is a rare commodity right now, so I’ve been purposely staying away from this social networking media.

This blog is linked to my personal Facebook page and each time I publish a new post, it automatically shows up on my wall, so it looks like I’m on FB when really I’m not.  If I remember, I log into my blog’s FB fan page and update my posts manually there, but that’s about the extent of my Facebook interaction these days.

So, I haven’t been reading any updates on this special child’s progress as of late.  But yet, I dreamed about her.   In my oh so realistic dream, my hubby and I visited her family and were enjoying being outdoors with her mother, father, and this sweet little one.

Suddenly, this child with the million dollar smile crawled over to me.  I helped her stand up and she gave me a hug.  Her father spoke, “Oh look, she really likes you!”

And with that, this child, who can only crawl short distances, started walking on a circular sidewalk.  She walked and walked and walked while the rest of us marveled and exclaimed at the miracle we witnessed.  But that’s not all.

Suddenly, she grinned and took off running!  Round and round in circles she ran and she ran and she ran!  Freely.  And happily with strong legs and body, laughing all the way.  And we all clapped our hands and laughed with her!

Such joy.  Such indescribable joy shone on her dear little face as she ran.  And I woke up smiling and amazed at this truly unforgettable dream.  Several times a day since, this particular dream comes to my mind.  As it does, I’m reminded to continue to pray for this child and her family because this is one dream I pray really does come true.

“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.”  ~ Walt Disney

Copyright ©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. Lucky you! That’s a beautiful dream. Sometimes dreams are when God’s voice is the easiest to hear. Maybe it was a dream of encouragement for them to keep hanging in there.

    I have a lot of nightmares and I always remember my dreams… vividly. Not much fun. But twice God let me have a dream that wasn’t a dream if that makes sense.

    He let me talk to my dad and be comforted and he told me what would happen just before we found our first home. (we had been looking for a while with no luck and it was very discouraging and our precious dog had died and we hadn’t been able to find another fuzzy love to share our lives with though we had been trying). He told me that when he gives us our dog to start packing, the house would shortly follow. A couple weeks later, we had a wonderful, little puppy that got to us through a series of odd events and I started packing. One week later, we found a house and our offer was accepted. We moved into our little home 4 weeks later and are still here.

    Sometimes dreams aren’t just dreams. Perhaps a little prophecy?

    Like

    • Oh, thank you so very much for sharing your dream experience too! What a neat story you have to tell about that. I too believe God speaks to us in dreams and Scripture shows us that. I do think it was a way to encourage this young family, so I shared my dream and my blog post with them and I continue to pray for support and encouragement for them as they travel on this journey with their little one. I so appreciate your comment!

      Like

  2. I’m not surprised you had this dream — you are so hopeful while you are awake. I will hope and pray that this dream does come true! I do believe there is some connection between dreams and reality, though of course I don’t know what it is. I have dreams, good and bad, every night, and remember them always. Sometimes I even have dreams that are continuations of previous dreams I’ve had in prior years. That’s a little scary 🙂 but fun, too, as I see what my mind writes for the next chapter. I think your mind has written a beautiful future for a sweet little girl and I can’t imagine a sweeter dream coming true.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

