Go light your world

A little light illuminates my world each time I fire up my laptop, whether it’s dark, dreary, or sunny be it daylight or evening.

Since I began this blogging journey, I have ‘met’ some truly incredible folks.   I follow a number of blogs and reading what these intuitive and creative people write honestly brightens up my day.

This week started out snowy and it’s been cold and gray,  but today as I write this post, I am joyful because the sun is shining brightly in a crystal blue sky.  I’m sitting in my living room by a window and the welcomed sun’s brilliant rays of light stream through the curtain and warm my face.

And that reminds me of my blogging friends whose words of good cheer, humor, and encouragement warm my heart.  This world we live in can seem so discouraging and dark.  Often only bad news makes the headlines; we hear about how truly horrific we humans can be toward one another.

For me, all it takes to lighten my burden or brighten my outlook is one encouraging thought – one ray of light sending the darkness scattering.  Some unknown person once said, “There isn’t enough darkness in all of the world to snuff out the light of one little candle.”

It reminds me why I have always loved my church’s candlelight service.  The worship service begins at 11 p.m. Christmas Eve in a darkened sanctuary.  At midnight, we usher the joy of Christmas Day’s arrival in when our pastor lights a candle from the Christ candle on the advent wreath and passes the light to another person.

In turn, all of us believers gathered there light our candles from one another until the church is filled with glowing radiance.  As we sing “Silent Night” by glimmering candlelight, the old church bell peals outside in the cold, crisp air.  The sight of flickering candles shining in believers’ faces as we recognize our Savior’s birth is a moving experience and brings me joy.

Recently, one of my blogging buddies, Happy Kids Happy Mom over at Play 101, passed some glimmering  joy to me when she graciously awarded my blog The Candle Lighter Award.  In her words, “This award is for those bloggers whose words light the way through the blogosphere.”

There are no rules for this award. It’s just a way of pointing out inspirational blogs.  But I’m honored that she deems my words worthy of being candlelight in this dark world and I am humbled and grateful that she chose me as one of her nominees.

The Candle Lighter Award is relatively new here in blogger world.  It originated with Kate at Believe Anyway for blogs “that bring light to the world [and offer] inspiration, hope, optimism, good advice, faith filled assurances, and even humor.”

I love the title of Kate’s blog, so naturally I checked it out.  What I read in this post blessed my heart, especially after I had just chosen to commence this new book of Opportunity (the new year) focusing on one word – joy.

Here’s what Kate wrote, “… let’s light up the world with Candle Lighters. The world needs joy and lots of it. Let’s leave no one out who is adding to the world’s joy.”

Some of my blogging friends have already received this award, some of them don’t really care about these accolades, so I’m asking my readers to pass along the Candle Lighter Award.  If you read a blog that inspires you and really lights up your world, send that writer a gift – this award.

“If you’re not lighting any candles, don’t complain about the dark.” ~  Author Unknown

Copyright ©2012 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

15 responses

  1. Your church service on Christmas Eve is like our Easter Vigil service….and is the exact imagery I had in mind for this award. Thank you for your blog and wonderful words. i am happy to have the privilege of discovering your blog. AND I got goosebumps when I signed up to be an email subscriber because…TA DAH—I got to be follower number 100!!!!! Yay for you and exciting for me. Have a fabulous rest of the day 😉

    Like

    • Kate, thanks so much for dropping by the empty nest and subscribing. Number 100? Ya-hoo! I don’t have a special “you’re the 100th subscriber prize” to give you, but I’m praying that the Lord blesses you this very day with much…JOY!! So happy to meet you!

      Like

  2. Hi! Enjoyed your blog today. As I was reading it, I really felt you were perfectly describing my church, the darkened sanctuary, the advent wreath, our service and the candelit singing of Silent Night. Thanks for sharing and reminding me of my favorite Christmas Eve memories too!

    Like

    • Welcome! I’m so glad you stopped to comment and let me know you enjoyed my post. I’m blessed that my words reminded you of your Christmas Eve memories as well. Christmas Eve and Easter Sunrise services are my absolute favorites!

      Like

  3. I love the exuberance of your joy “Light up the sky” and the gentleness of your candlelight flickering on Christmas Eve. I know when I click on your posts, your words will radiate the messages of these images. Congratulations on this award. You are so deserving.

    Like

    • I know full well that some days I will have to look for that “exuberance of joy,” but I’m determined (with God’s major help, of course) to live a year of joy. Sometimes it will be found in the quietness of a candlelight flickering as well. I’m humbled by your always kind words, my friend.

      Like

    • Thank you, my friend! Glad my post warmed you up! It’s actually been unseasonably warm up here for this time of year, so no trouble staying warm. Of course, sweet comments from blogging friends and reading their posts always keep me warm too!

      Like

  4. I also want to share my appreciation and gratitude to my good friend, Georgette, who writes Georgette Sullin’s Blog. She also presented the Candle Lighter Award to my blog. I am so humbled by her enthusiasm for reading my posts and her ever kind supportive and encouraging comments about my writing. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Georgette!

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

