Starting at the end

blogDSCN8418My year of writing in my book entitled Opportunity comes to a close today as this is the last page in the last chapter (Chapter 12, Page 31).

I opened Opportunity on New Year’s Day, 2011  and tonight at midnight on New Year’s Eve, this year of opportunity concludes.

In a few hours, 2011 will be relegated to the past.  It was a year to remember – a year our gracious Father God granted me to use as an opportunity to share my thoughts, my insights, my inspiration, and a bit of my life with you, my readers.

Some of you are the dearest of friends, some of you have become my friends even though we’ve never met face to face, and some of you I don’t know at all.   Regardless of your standing as my reader, I thank you for the privilege of entering your world via this blog.

I pray you’ve been blessed with a few laughs (I’ll admit I’m not much of a humor writer, but I am funny in person – at least I think so), some ideas to contemplate, and some perspectives that opened a few opportunities for you as well.

I believe God lovingly provides all of us new opportunities as surely as dawn breaks through each dark night into daylight.  What we do with those opportunities is ours to choose.

I ran across this poem one day and I placed it in my worn, dog-eared, trusty notebook of quotes.  But I’d like to share it with you, especially if you’re feeling discouraged or you’ve misplaced your hope or your dreams.

Opportunity

By Berton Braley

With doubt and dismay you are smitten,

You think there’s no change for you, son?

Why, the best books haven’t been written,

The best race hasn’t been run.

The best score hasn’t been made yet,

The best song hasn’t been sung,

The best tune hasn’t been played yet;

Cheer up, for the world is young!

Tomorrow we launch out into a brand new year, a new chance, a young world of opportunities.  I don’t make resolutions.  I’m not diligent in keeping them, but God has been showing me what I need to focus on.

I’m choosing how I will approach 2012 with a concept He’s placed in my heart and mind and I’ll share that with you in my next post and in the year to come.  Never fear, my signature book of Opportunity continues on, but there will be a new byword just for the new year.

So until then, Happy New Year!  May you be blessed in 2012 with much love, peace, and joy.

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language

And next year’s words await another voice.

What we call the beginning is often the end.

And to make an end is to make a beginning.

The end is where we start from.” ~ T.S. Eliot

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. I too, don’t make resolutions. I too, don’t consider myself a humor writer, but certainly enjoy it when I read it. I look forward to reading more posts in 2012 from you and will find inspiration in your writing and many other wonderful folks I have met.
    This was sent to me by a blogging friend, LD, and I think it reminds me of how blessed we are today.

    “And during the New Year may you have:
    enough happiness to keep you sweet – enough trials to keep you strong,
    enough sorrow to keep you human – enough hope to keep you happy,
    enough failure to keep you humble – enough success to keep you eager,
    enough friends to give you comfort – enough wealth to meet your needs,
    enough enthusiasm to make you look forward to tomorrow, and
    enough determination to make each day better than the day before.” – Melvin Newland

    We just got home from big D and are looking forward to a quiet night at home. Wishing you a peaceful and Happy New Year.

    Like

    • Glad you made it home safely from the big D. Wow, it’s been years since I’ve been to that neck of the woods. We too just got home a bit ago from a little excursion (more blogging fodder!!) and are settling in for a nice quiet evening at home. I love the little blessing you sent, so sweet. Thank you! May God bless you and yours richly and joyfully in the New Year! ♥

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

