Speechless (snowy) Saturday

blogDSCN8093“It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas everywhere you go”…….screeeeeeeeech…………..whoa, wait!  Christmas is officially 57 days away.   We haven’t even celebrated Thanksgiving yet!  Back up the truck (or the calendar pages), we haven’t even hit the month of November.

But the scene which greeted me outside my house this morning enticed me to sing Christmas carols.  That’s because it is snowing here at Mama’s Empty Nest! A pristine white overlay cloaks the still green grass in our yard, not a usual occurrence for October here in my area of the state.  About an inch or so already accumulates on the maple trees that haven’t dropped their coats of pretty fall colors yet.  It’s an odd sight.

blogDSCN8103The weather forecasters predicted this, but I scoffed when I heard their report.  I expected maybe some snowy bits mixed in with rain, but not this

Not the ground covered with a fluffy white blanket, the outside world wrapped in colorless cotton, and a steady dusting of Suzy Snowflake and all of her friends continuing to descend.   

My house looks as if it’s ensconced in an unremitting snow globe, one where the snow never stops and settles.

I’m posting pictures.  I know it isn’t Wordless Wednesday, but for me on this 29th page in Chapter 10 of my Opportunity book, I am shocked.  Let’s just call this Speechless Saturday.

Oh well… “Oh the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful and since we’ve no place to go, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!”

blogDSCN8095

blogDSCN8097 ©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

16 responses

  1. Oh my, I think winter wonderland came early for you guys there. We’re feeling the effects of climate change. Here in the Philippines we have the hottest days these days. It almost feels like summer instead of Christmas just around the corner. Usually, the temperatures drop a bit when the -ber months kick in but now it’s really hot here.:) Can’t believe the fall pictures you took were just like two to three weeks apart (?) from this one.:)

    Like

    • It sure did, Yen! Actually, just yesterday I was going to take a picture of one of the trees in our front yard. The sun was shining and the light was hitting the leaves in a pretty way, but I got preoccupied with something else and didn’t get around to taking the shot. And today, I took a picture of that same tree in the snow!

      Like

  2. I’m in the same (snowy) boat here in Central PA! I feel like fall just whizzed by or went straight from 80 degrees to rain then snow. I love the snow, but only if it means Christmas is right around the corner. What a tease!

    Like

    • I know! One day it’s a crisp sunny fall day, then boom – 32 degrees and snow! I think you all out there in central PA are getting it worse than us here in the western part of the state though. Christmas really is around the corner though. My hubby just asked me if I want to go Christmas shopping today. 😀 Thanks for stopping by Mama’s Empty Nest.

      Like

    • It wouldn’t bother me to skip Halloween, but I want my Thanksgiving! Oh, maybe the Pilgrims did have that first day of Thanksgiving feast in the snow? I’m not too worried, it will probably be gone tomorrow. 32 here today, but temps are supposed to warm up this week. So maybe I will listen to those weather forecasters with all their baloney predictions after all.

      Like

  3. Most of our Connecticut family and friends are without power, and they have no idea when they will get it back. Way too early to start this. It’s chilly here in Virginia, but since we’re right on the coast, it hasn’t gotten too cold yet. Still haven’t turned the heat on, but I know that won’t last long. Great pictures.

    Like

    • We were on the fringe of the nor’easter, so we did not get as much snow as everyone east and north of us. It was a heavy, wet snow and with such a huge accumulation, that’s why there are so many power outages. We were fortunate, only a couple inches of snow which melted by the next day and we have power. I feel for those who don’t. 😦

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

