No walk in the park

blogDSCN8026The verdict is in and it’s not going to be a walk in the park.  I’ve got a messy back, hip, and neck.

By messy, I mean those parts of my anatomy are all messed up.  Even I, an untrained non-healthcare person, could see that from my x-rays.    Add some arthritis to the squished up and skewed joints, it’s no wonder my body screamed every time I went up and down my stairs.

I suspect a cervical strain from a car accident I had over 20 years ago contributed significantly to my neck issues.  I’ve suffered with neck pain and stiffness for a long while, and I’m pretty confident many of my headaches stem from that as well.   And then there was that belly-flopping fall I took this past summer in my family room.  That didn’t help my back or hip one bit.

I’ve had back problems before and visits to chiropractors fixed them right up.    But that was several years ago when we lived in other states.  I’d never visited a chiropractic doctor here in my hometown.   So after some deliberation, I made an appointment.  After an exam, medical history,  and x-rays, the first visit involved some spine-tingling –an electric stimulation machine which I kept telling the assistant to crank up higher because I couldn’t feel  it!   Once I began sensing those pulsating vibrations, it actually felt pleasant.

Then came some stretching and pumping, which felt amazing and relieved that heavy-handed pressure on my lower back and hip.  Some slight adjustments to start with and I experienced some relief immediately.  With each treatment, the doc adjusts my neck and lower back a little more and I have to admit, it’s painful.  I can’t quite understand how something can hurt so much yet at the same time feel so good, but that’s how I have to describe it.  I’m already seeing improvement, but there will be more treatments to come and some therapy as well on my road to recovery.

How did I know I’d chosen the right health care provider?  His caring attitude won me over.  As did the fact that his father-in-law happens to be my optometrist (and I have a wonderful story about him to share sometime).  And then through our conversation, I found out my new chiropractor’s father and brother live in the Pacific Northwest; his dad actually resides in our former suburb.   So there were connections.   I like connections.   They make me feel….well,… connected.  And the shape of my back, hip, and neck are definitely connected to my well-being.

Oh yeah, there was one more thing.  As I sat in the waiting room for my first appointment, I glanced occasionally at the flat-screen TV to read the messages about chiropractic care shown there.  I just happened to look up when this flashed across the screen…an animated picture of the Jackson 5  belting out “I Want You Back.”    I did a double-take since I had just written about that song in my back-lamenting blog post the day before!

Today in my book called Opportunity, Chapter 10, Page 15, I’m taking that as a sign.  I’m in the right place.  I’m already moving well enough to take a little stroll in my hometown park.  And maybe, just maybe, my chiropractor will get this body into shape to move and groove  just like Michael Jackson did.   What do you think?  Think I’ll be dancing like this any time soon??  Okay, even I have to admit that would be a miracle, but a girl can dream, can’t she?

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

16 responses

  1. I’m so sorry you have to work so hard to manage your pain. One wouldn’t know what you are dealing with in reading your posts. You always keep perspective and don’t let it get you down. I know the source of that resolve is your faith and your lovely family. You handle it gracefully like the changing of the seasons and the change of your header. But…I know it’s not that simple. My husband lives with back pain daily and during the night. I love your take on the connections…that you can connect absolutely makes you feel connected with confidence to the care you are getting. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • You always have the kindest comments to make, Georgette. I so appreciate getting to know you through your blog posts and comments on mine. I’m doing well, the pain is definitely subsiding, and I’m able to sleep well at night. I don’t suffer nearly as much as your husband must and my brother-in-law who has severe back pain daily. Compared to what they experience, this is just a minor setback. 🙂

      Like

      • I thought it was fun and whoa, wouldn’t it be awesome to be able to move like that?? I’m just happy I’m walking and taking the steps, slowly and using my good leg and hip, but hey, it’s progress. And I’m grateful for it.

        Like

  2. Sounds all very providential to me! I’m so glad you found a doctor to help you. A few years back I had some pretty severe back pain that required medical attention as well so I’m familiar with that electrical machine you spoke of and you’re right it feels pretty good! I saw in a three stooges movie recently a back joke… One says to the other when did you get a weak back the answer…about a week back! Sorry couldn’t resist that one! Lol hope you are well soon! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sis, glad you are confident in your chiro… Confidence in your doctor is half your battle… The other half—–Not so easy!!! Sure glad that you’re seeing progress… It’s an uphill battle but you’re in God’s army and we know who wins…. I’m praying for continual progress to recovery. Don’t forget about shoving around all those boxes and moving your eldest recently….That probably also contributed to your back screaming at you….Keep the faith, dear one, and hang in there….It takes some time… I guess we’ll pray for patience too.
    Love you, Big sis

    Like

  4. I know how you feel, unfortunately, and I will keep hoping for you that some treatment will work, and you’ll be dancing like that in no time!

    I developed juvenile arthritis at age 14, I have three herniated discs in my neck, and my knees… well, let’s not go there.

    Still, like you, I continue to hope and though there aren’t many days I am pain free, I cling to the same spirit as you! The one of, “Yes! I will jump and jive. It will be.”

    Good luck to you. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, Happymom, I’m so sorry to hear about your arthritis. Bless your heart, I can’t even imagine the days you must struggle with pain. My discomfort is nothing compared to others like you who deal with this day in and day out. And since all my children are grown, I don’t have to try to keep up with little ones like you do! I know, let’s have spirit and hope together!! And I’m going to add lots of prayer in there too, just for you. 🙂

      Like

  5. I’m so glad you found the right chiropractor, Mama, and are getting the help you need. I don’t know why some (many) doctors are loathe to suggest chiropractic when a patient has the problems you describe. Surgery always seems to be their answer. Years ago I had a stiff neck that was so painful, I had to turn my whole body every time I wanted to look in another direction. Sleep was out of the question. I’d sit up nights and cry because I was so tired of the pain and sleepless nights. I had gone to my general practitioner and an orthopedist, and neither one could help me. When I said I was going to try a chiropractor, both of them were horrified and said to please not do that. After months of no relief, I went to a chiropractor a friend swore by, and after two weeks, I was so much better, and after several months of continued therapy, I was back to normal. Hope you start feeling better soon.

    Like

    • So true. The medical profession does seem to frown mightily against chiropractic care. Thanks for sharing your story! I for one am not too fond of surgery and I don’t like taking meds for something like this. Chiropractic care has always worked well for me, so I’m sticking with it. I already am feeling much better. Today was the first day I didn’t use my ice pack, so that’s progress in my book. I’m moving with much more ease and less pain, that’s for sure. 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

