Still Daddy’s little girl

blogscan93If you’re female and you’ve been blessed with an endearing relationship with your father, no matter how old you may be, you’re still Daddy’s little girl.

Our middle daughter recently called and wanted to speak to her father.   While he chatted with her, she surprised him with an invitation to spend a day out with her – just the two of them, her treat.

Hubby’s birthday falls in the same month as Father’s Day and daughter had promised him then she had a special gift in mind.  Between her job, wedding planning, and spending time with her fiancé, she doesn’t have many weekends free, but she set aside one Saturday just for her dad.

She planned ‘Daddy-Daughter’ day with an activity they both would appreciate.  These two share a love for historical places, so a trip to one of the local museums seemed perfect.  Unfortunately, this particular site closed early that day, so they took a detour to our city’s National Aviary and then a scrumptious dinner out afterward.

As always, our photography prone daughter snapped lots of pictures.  Anyone who views those photos easily could surmise that daughter and dad experienced a great day together.  I wonder how many twenty-something daughters care to spend a day with just dear ol’ Dad, and how many fathers really devote time to their daughters.  I think there are multitudes of daughters who desperately desire time with their fathers but are cheated of it, and that truly makes me sad.

My father was Dad to three daughters.  It’s safe to say, next to my mother, we three girls were the light of our Dad’s life.  He always treated us like his treasures. Even after we all became adults, he continued giving us gifts of chocolates on Valentine’s Day.    Dad loved spending time with all of his girls, and that included grand-daughters too.

Our father didn’t have a role model since our grandfather died when Dad was a baby, so our papa set his own fatherhood standards.  And they were exemplary.  My sisters and I never felt unwanted, unloved, or like our father didn’t have time for us.  Instead, we experienced the reassurance that we were taken care of,  protected, safe, and very, very loved.

And that is vastly important for a young girl as she grows up.  Research shows that fathers have just as much and often more influence on their daughters as mothers do.    One researcher (L. Nielsen) states a “father has the greater impact on the daughter’s ability to trust, enjoy and relate well to the males in her life…well-fathered daughters are usually more self-confident, more self-reliant, and more successful in school and in their careers than poorly-fathered daughters.”

All you Dads out there, it’s time to step up to the plate and tell your daughters how important they are to you.  Better yet, show them.  If you need some good pointers, I’d recommend this book, Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters:  10 Secrets Every Father Should Know, by Dr. Meg Meeker.

It’s never too late to let your daughter know she’s still Daddy’s little girl.  I know that I’m grateful my father made me feel secure in his love.  And today in Chapter 8, Page 5, in my yearly book called Opportunity, I’m also thankful my husband is that kind of father to our daughters.   Maybe that’s why the following Subaru commercial always makes me cry!

© 2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

15 responses

  1. I love this ad too! My daughter got her driver’s license a couple of months ago! But, what you say about fathers is so very true and I am truly blessed that my ex-husband is very committed to being an excellent father to his children and always makes time for them. It is especially important for the girls, like you point out, and helps them in their selection of future dates and eventually husbands. I’m going to pass your blog posting to my ex as I know he will enjoy reading this. Thank you for a lovely read as always!

    Like

    • I know it’s a commercial but I find it so heartwarming. Glad I’m not the only one! That’s wonderful to hear that your ex-husband takes his role of father so seriously and continues to be a very vital part of your children’s lives. Count yourself (and your kids) very blessed! Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed my post. Good to hear from you!

      Like

  2. I’m pretty sure I got teary eyed reading this one! Not only about what you wrote about me and dad but also about grandpa! Both of these men have had a huge influence on my life and I am lucky I got to spend the little time I had with grandpa plus the rest of the time I have with dad! Amazing men and truly blessed to know them.

    Like

  3. Every year, for Father’s Day, my brother gets my dad two tickets to a Padres/Cardinals game. They both live in LA, so it’s a promise that, for that one day, they’ll drive down to San Diego and spend an afternoon and evening together. It’s hard to compete with siblings.

    Like

  4. How wonderful that your daughter wanted alone time with her daddy. Once she’s married, those times will be rare indeed. My husband is a wonderful father to our daughter (My Pajama Days) and a fantastic grandfather, too. And it warms my heart when I see my sweet son-in-law, DW, with his two daughters. Such a warm and loving relationship. He is very involved (it will probably seem like TOO involved now that his oldest is 13!). Loved this post, Mama

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

