Half-marathon + guitar = love

blogDSCN7550Last weekend, my country home was full of people I love.  Just the way I like it.

Hubby and I are starting to get accustomed to the solitude and quietness of our empty nest, but it’s so much more enjoyable when there is a little noise around here.   When there is lively conversation around the kitchen table.  When the sounds of a guitar being strummed reaches our ears.  When showers are running and hair dryers are droning.

We’re getting used to a clean and orderly house, but it feels more like home when we notice certain sights.  When the refrigerator and pantry is stocked full of food.  When there are backpacks and shoes strewn hither and yon.   And even when there are umpteen glasses left sitting on kitchen counters and the family room coffee table.

“The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family.”  ~ Thomas Jefferson

Just like Jefferson, I am at my happiest when my family is home with me.   Last weekend, Mama’s Empty Nest was pretty full.   Oldest daughter arrived home from the South for a two-fold reason – first to go wedding dress shopping with her sister and to run our city’s half-marathon with a college friend on Sunday morning.

blogDSCN7381Our son, the youngest, traveled home Friday from the state next door to spend a little time with his sister.  He treated us with songs on his guitar that he’s recently learned and a few that he’s made up himself.

Later that evening, oldest daughter’s beau drove several hours to meet us for the first time.   Daughter warned us he might be a little shy.

I’m sure he must have been nervous, but he quickly and easily meshed with our family with no hint of shyness.   We found ourselves genuinely liking this thoughtful young man who has captured our daughter’s heart and who drove such a long distance to cheer her on in her first half-marathon.

I’m not certain where oldest daughter gets her love of running – definitely not from her mama.  Daughter ran cross country in high school and has been a veteran 5K racer, but this was her first attempt at marathon running and she finished in good time.  I think it helped to have beau’s support and encouragement.  He seems to be adept at making her feel special, and I really like that about him.

After all the activity and excitement, the nest emptied out once more by Sunday evening.   Son departed first, then daughter’s beau.   Daughter flew back south on Monday.

We missed having middle daughter and fiancé here, but they had an important ceremony to attend during the weekend.   Plus they are coming for a visit soon!  And when they arrive, sounds and sights of life will fill the nest once again lifting Mama and Papa’s spirits.

Someone once said, “The love of a family is life’s greatest blessing,” and in Chapter 5, Page 19, of my Opportunity book, I am thankful for the amazing blessing which is my family.

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

4 responses

  1. Isn’t it great? Sounds like Christmas…These are memorable times. My mother used to comment (I have a sister and two brothers), that the sounds of just girls in the house, were different from just the boys in the house. Just think how the sounds will vary as they bring their respective families someday. A lot to look forward to from what you have described.

    Like

    • Yes! It is great and your mother was so right — the sounds of girls are very different from those of boys. The SMELLS are different too! 😉 Ha! I do look forward to the day when the kids all come back to the nest with spouses and grandbabies in tow…..ah….sounds wonderful. Are you one of those lucky grandmas?

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

