Welcome as flowers in May

It’s May Day, but I didn’t find a basket of flowers on my doorstep.  Instead I found a very wet poblog022rch!

As a young girl, I always fancied dancing and singing around a May Pole on May 1st but never actually did that.  I do remember filling a paper basket, which I made at school, with flowers from my mother’s garden and placing it on my neighbor’s porch one year.  It was one of those sweet, simple spring traditions of yesteryear that I wonder if children even learn about today.

Spring time always makes me hope for the best.  And that reminds me of this quote I once read by Susan J. Bissonette:  “An optimist is the human personification of spring.”

Come May, the optimist in me always expects days filled with cheerful sunshine and warmth, but reality often delivers the exact opposite especially this early in the month.   And today is no exception since it is yet another chilly, rainy day with more of the same forecast according to the Weather Channel.

I’m employed by a non-profit organization and every year in early May we hold a walk-a-thon type fundraiser in our hometown riverfront park.  Today we held it in the rain just like we did last year and again we were forced to switch to Plan B.

blog031Plan A is to begin the walk in our park’s amphitheater, which this year is still covered with flooding river water.  Plan B is to hold registration at a local church, then walk in the rain.  We always appreciate the loyal few who help us, rain or shine.

Spring has proven fickle again this year yielding lovely, balmy weather one day followed up with a chilly, dreary one.

Yesterday I took advantage of sunshine and nicer temperatures to stroll around our country home yard and notice signs that indeed spring is here, even if the weather isn’t exactly cooperating.

Let me share a few of the tell-tale signs I observed.   Suddenly, our lawn has sprouted bursts of yellow everywhere.

Dandelions!  These hearty plants are weeds and most people try to eradicate them from their expanse of green, but out here in the country, that’s a battle we can’t win.

Dandelion seeds lift up into the air and twirl and sway through the breeze and land in our yard continually.

But there’s something about these happy-faced spots of perky color that makes me smile.  They remind me of my childhood when each spring I would pick dandelion nosegays to bring inside and present to my mother.  Mom would place them in a glass of water as if they were the most prized flowers in her garden, and she had plenty of those.

Next on my walk, I spied little glimpses of purple and as I leaned over closer to the ground, I saw one of my favorite tiny flowers – violets.  Another reminder of childhood.  My mother taught me a different name for these delicate little flowers; she called them johnny jump-ups.

blog032I can only assume it’s because quite suddenly they seem to jump up out of the ground.  They don’t last long, so you have to really search for them.  In my yard, there are only a few areas where they appear.

“When April steps aside for May,

Like diamonds all the rain-drops glisten;

Fresh violets open every day:

To some new bird each hour we listen.” ~ Lucy Larcom

Soon one of the bushes in our back yard will produce one of my favorite scents – lilac.  I absolutely go giddy with glee when blooms on the lilac bush open up and I can cut huge bouquets of those delicate lavender delights to brighten up my kitchen table.  Their fragrance is so sweet, I can hardly wait to smell them.

Mark Twain once said, “It’s spring fever…. You don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!”

Yes, I definitely have spring fever on this first page in Chapter 5 of my Opportunity book, but unlike Twain, I know what I want – sunshine and warmer temperatures!  Plus I’m overly anxious for those beautiful May flowers that April showers promise.

And that thought reminds me – because my blog was recently Freshly Pressed by WordPress, I’ve gained some new subscribers.

I am excited to have you join me here at Mama’s Empty Nest!  My prayer is you will find something here to reflect upon, or something to inspire you, or maybe just cause you to smile.

So welcome to you, new readers!   “You are as welcome as the flowers in May.” ~ Charles Macklin

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

8 responses

  1. Another common link. May Day was one of my favorites, and until recently, I would put together baskets of something and leave them at the doors of my friends and neighbors. It was such a good feeling. Today I was tempted, but sadly, nothing materialized. Mama, I hope you are having a wonderful May Day!

    Like

  2. I remember hanging paper cones with pipe clear handles filled with candy and dandelions on my neighbors’ door handles then running away laughing. Spring was always fun! I always felt that the appearance of dandelions meant that summer was coming soon. I enjoyed your post!.

    Like

  3. You reminded me it’s about time for the Johnny jump-ups. I need to go check.

    I’ve been enjoying your posts for a few days and will continue to come back. Plan to check out some of your earlier posts as well.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

