What’s so good about Good Friday?

It is Good Friday.

The day that I, along with other Christians, remember what our Savior Jesus Christ did for us that day as He was tried unfairly, sentenced to death by crucifixion, and endured six tortured and grueling hours hanging and dying on a cross between two criminals.

What’s so good about someone dying on a cross?  Why did He do it?  For you.  For me.  For all of us.  Because He loves us.  It’s as simple as that.

The book of John in the New Testament tells us that in Chapter 3, Verse 16:  “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

So on this 22nd page of Chapter 4 in my book called Opportunity, I want to share my Savior with you because what He did today is not the end of the story.  His death brought life to you and me and He revealed this on that miraculous Sunday morning that we call Easter.

If you don’t know Jesus Christ, find or borrow a Bible, turn to the book of John and read about the One who came to earth to save the lost.  It’s the best place to start.

As you contemplate that wondrous cross where Jesus gave His life, watch this video and know that He died just for you.

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

At the Cross

Alas! And did my Savior bleed? And did my Sov’reign die?

Would He devote that sacred head for sinners such as I?

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,

And the burden of my heart rolled away,

It was there by faith I received my sight,

And now I am happy all the day!

Was it for crimes that I have done He groaned upon the tree?

Amazing pity! Grace unknown! And love beyond degree!

Well might the sun in darkness hide, and shut His glories in,

When Christ, the mighty Maker, died for man the creature’s sin.

But drops of grief can ne’er repay the debt of love I owe;

Here, Lord, I give myself away, ’tis all that I can do!

~ Old hymn written by Isaac Watts & Ralph E. Hudson

2 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

