No flight plan, Part 1

blogDSCN7913Airline tickets for $39.  That ad attracted my attention for about a nano-second.

I used to love to travel by plane; now I’d rather pull out my own toenails.  In the past, I thought there was no better way to travel than flying.

Jump on an airplane on one coast of the country, be on the other coast in six hours, as opposed to driving for six days? No better way to go, I used to think.  I know because I’ve done both.

Flying used to be enjoyable, an adventure I willingly embarked upon even with three small children in tow.  I loved the sensation of lifting off into the air, peering out jet windows to catch glimpses of wispy, cotton candy clouds floating beside me, observing the patchwork of fields, mountain tops, or rambling threads of rivers and roads beneath us thousands of feet down.  Equally enthralling was catching the breath-taking view of a city all aglow in brilliant lights outlined in the dark of an inky black night sky.  Glorious.

Landing thrilled me even more!  I loved the sensation of gradually making the descent, feeling your ears pop, watching the ground get closer, closer, closer until you felt the bump of the plane’s tires touching down.  Then came the amazing part for me….flying on the ground, traveling at such a high rate of speed you wondered if the plane would ever be able to stop, but finally brakes grabbed hold and the plane came to a halt.  Exhilarating!

For certain, flying used to be fun.  Now I’d rather avoid it at all costs.  Unless there’s a dire emergency, you’d have to pay me to fly.  I’m not afraid of flying; instead I fear and loathe everything prior to and in between the actual flights.

“If God had really intended men to fly, he’d make it easier to get to the airport,” someone named George Winters apparently once said.  Well, Mr. Winters, times have changed.  Now I believe it’s actually easier getting to the airport than it is getting through the airport.

I understand the necessity for security; really in today’s unsafe world, I get that.  But given the choice, after my last flying experience, I’m done with that mode of transportation.

My last venture by airplane occurred before the rash of outrageously crazy TSA screening stories that you watch on internet videos or hear about from a neighbor.  You know, the ones about 3-year-olds getting stripped and frisked and people having to remove prosthetics or endure some humiliating ordeal.

Flying just isn’t in my plans; I don’t care how low air fares drop.  I’ve got my own crazy story which sealed the deal when it comes to my disdain for air travel, and I haven’t flown since then.   A few years ago, I flew south with oldest daughter for a weekend.  Her career necessitated a move there, and we embarked on an apartment finding quest.

Our flight departed late in the day, so we had no time for dinner.  The only sustenance we received on our short flight to our next lay-over was a glass of water.  No individual bottle of water.  The flight attendant rolled down the aisle with a large communal bottle from which she poured water into a plastic cup for those of us thirsty travelers.  No food, of course – not even a tiny little bag of peanuts.

We ran to our next flight at our layover.  Again no time for food; and again, no food on the plane.  Arriving at our destination close to midnight, we were starving when we checked into our downtown hotel, where the only hot meal we could find was a vending machine Hot Pocket warmed up in a microwave.

Our trip on the ground was successful – she found a great apartment, we explored the city a bit, enjoyed our meals and one delight for me was sipping Southern sweet tea.

Because of all the waiting in line necessary for security screening and because we needed to turn in our rental car, we arrived at the airport very early Sunday morning for the airline’s first flight out to our home destination.  That Sunday unfolded as one of the longest days of my life!

And that story will unfold on tomorrow’s blog.   I’m tired just thinking about it on this 12th page of Chapter 4 in my Opportunity book.

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

10 responses

  1. Bummer that you had a bad experience. I bet I would not enjoy flying either if I had experienced that. My husband and I have two little boys and are both in school right now so do not travel much during this season of our life. But we did however fly from Atlanta to Denver and back last week. Our travels went very smooothly. Neither of us had to be scanned or frisked.

    Like

    • Glad you had an uneventful trip, especially because you had your little guys with you! The trip I just wrote about only got worse, believe me! If you want to read the rest of my story, please stop back tomorrow for Part 2. It was the trip of a lifetime (I’m being sarcastic here)!!

      Like

    • Oh you are soooo very welcome! I will NEVER forget the trip from “heck fire” because it was the worst trip of my life! I find it amusing that you flew from country to country to get to Africa just a few weeks before without any problems and we had this horrible trip within our own country. So if I can’t forget this trip, neither can you. 😉

      Like

  2. I relate so much to your description of the joy you previously felt at all aspects of flying, but I also share in your decision to avoid air travel at all cost. In my case, primarily because of the invasive scanning and groping that goes on at the airport these days. I will not willingly submit to sexual assault in order to fly, and if it means we need to drive to arrive at a vacation destination, so be it. I hope our Congress and our countrymen and women soon come to their senses and make these unconstitutional searches a thing of the past.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Blessings like feathers « Mama's Empty Nest

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

