Here we go a-waffling

To Facebook or not to Facebook?  I waffle back and forth on using that social networking media because at times I enjoy it and other times, I just can’t stand it.

But this morning when I opened up my Facebook account expecting to see the usual – status updates, pictures, postings of friends’ blogs –  this announcement jumped off my home page – It’s International Waffle Day!

Yes, today on Page 25, Chapter 3, in my book called Opportunity, it’s a day to celebrate waffles!

Apparently this holiday began in Sweden both as a celebration of the beginning of spring and also the Feast of the Annunciation, a Christian belief which falls on this day to commemorate when the archangel Gabriel appeared to Mary with the message that she had been chosen to bear the Son of God, Jesus Christ.

For some reason, the Swedes celebrate by making waffles and it has become a custom for every March 25.   So last night, there may have been countless people exclaiming like Donkey in Shrek: “And in the mornin’, I’m makin’ waffles!”

Our family loves waffles whether they are the fast-serving Eggo toaster waffles or the deliciously tasty homemade waffles my hubby makes when the kids come back to fill up the empty nest for a visit.  Waffles serve as one of our favorite breakfast foods, topped with maple syrup or fruit.

We don’t usually consider them dessert like some do with huge Belgian waffles topped with ice cream or fruit and whipped cream, but the idea does sound delectable.   When I think of a waffle dessert, I usually picture a waffle ice cream cone filled with chocolate chip mint ice cream…mmm, mmm, good.

So drag out that waffle iron, search out some delicious waffle recipes because today is a good day to enjoy some waffles.  And I’m not waffling!

As Professor G.H. Dorr said in the movie The Ladykillers to the waitress at Waffle House: “Madam, we must have waffles! We must all have waffles forthwith! We must all think, and we must all have waffles, and think each and every one of us to the very best of his ability…”

Okay, I’m off to convince hubby to make us waffles for dinner….either that, or I’m off to find an IHOP because today, I’ve got a hankering for waffles!

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

3 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

