Putting on my happy face

blogpic3My lawn is covered with several inches of snow.  The sky is overcast and gray; gloomy rain is predicted to arrive followed by more snow.  No sunshine whatsoever.

All week long I’ve had to awaken at o’dark thirty to travel to the school farthest away from my house to present programs for my non-profit employer for the first class of the day and I’m not…shall we say an ‘early bird.’   So I’m a little tired and grumpy.

My house is naked on one side where the siding blew off in a windstorm.   Spring hasn’t shown its perky little self in my neighborhood yet.

But it’s still a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

Why?  Today is the birthday of my last born – my son, who lives and works in the state next door.  Of course, Mama in her empty nest was feeling a little melancholy over not seeing son for his birthday.  But then the miraculous text message appeared on her cell phone yesterday announcing that son will drive the six or so hours home today after work and will arrive in time for birthday cake tonight!

Mama quickly became a happy camper.  Papa went to a near-by bakery known for their yummy cakes.   There will be some celebrating at Mama’s Empty Nest tonight and tomorrow! I’ve got my happy face on!  And it makes me want to sing:

“Gray skies are gonna clear up,

Put on a happy face;                                                                          

Brush off the clouds and cheer up,

Put on a happy face.

Take off the gloomy mask of tragedy,

It’s not your style;

You’ll look so good that you’ll be glad

Ya’ decide to smile!

 Pick out a pleasant outlook,

Stick out that noble chin;

Wipe off that “full of doubt” look,

Slap on a happy grin!

 And spread sunshine all over the place,

Just put on a happy face!”

Yep, celebrating the life of my son is like spreading sunshine all over the place.  I can’t help but put on my happy face!  Happy Birthday to my beloved son on this 24th page in Chapter 2 of my Opportunity book!  I love you!

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

7 responses

  1. It’s almost Friday, hang on, you can make it, Saturday will be here before you know it, and you can sleep in. And if you get the sleet that we got, maybe tomorrow will be another snow day. Enjoy the celebration!

    Like

  2. Happy happy Birthday to you oldest son! What a joy to celebrate the lives of our loved ones. We will celebrate our girl’s 22nd birthday soon as well! Enjoy!

    Like

    • Can’t believe your girl is turning 22 already! Son is a year ahead of her. For some reason, I didn’t remember they were that close in age. We had a nice short visit. He’s actually here for his college roommate’s bachelor outing (roomie is getting married next month) – a ski trip. I’m just praying son doesn’t hurt his shoulder again!

      Like

      • How nice to get to spend some time with him while he was in town. Hope he’s careful on the ski-outing! For some reason, it’s hard for the boys to be “careful” when they are out on adventures! :/ God, bless them, as they often “think” that they are being careful….uh huh…yep they sure do….:)

        Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

