Sorry folks, January = Winter

blogWinter Time 008According to my local newspaper today, people are already tired of winter.

Apparently some are even praying for it to end.

People, buck up!  We’ve only had one official month of winter.

December 21 heralds the beginning of the winter season and today is the 22nd page of Chapter One in my book of Opportunity.

That means there are still two months left of Ol’ Man Winter since spring doesn’t usher itself in officially until March.   And there are only nine days left in the wintry month of January, so soon I’ll be turning over a new chapter.

On this bitterly cold (brrr – our outside thermometer read minus 7 degrees this morning!) but brightly sunny day, I take the opportunity to be grateful for winter.   Most people might think I’m crazy, but I relish the snow.

I even like frosty temperatures.  Cold weather invigorates me and I love taking a walk in snowy weather so brisk it stings your face and makes your toes tingle.

I love coming back inside the house afterwards with rosy cheeks and after shedding layers of outer garments, burrowing down under a warm, wooly blanket to sip a steaming cup of tea and watch the snow silently descend across the countryside.  Call me strange, but that comforts me.

So here’s my tribute in photo and poetry to January.  Even though this month has brought some trouble and trials, it still gives me joy.

blogDSCN0534The snow fell gently all the night.  It made a blanket soft and white.  It covered houses, flowers and ground,  but did not make a single sound. ~ children’s poem by unknown

blogWinter Time 041January opens the box of the year

And brings out days that are bright and clear.

And brings out days that are cold and gray,

And shouts, “Come see what I brought today!” ~ “January” by Leland B. Jacobs

blogDSCN0557Black are my steps on silver sod;

Thick blows my frosty breath abroad;

And tree and house and hill and lake

Are frosted like a wedding cake. ~ excerpt from “Winter Time” by Robert Louis Stevenson

blogwinter time 045 (2)Suddenly the sky turned gray, the day,

Which had been bitter and chill,

Grew soft and still.

Quietly from some invisible blossoming tree

Millions of petals cool and white

Drifted and blew,

Lifted and flew,

Fell with the falling night. ~ “Snow Towards Evening” by Melville Cane

blog0538I choose to be thankful for this beautiful season of winter.  Why?  Because it is God’s creation.  David wrote in the Psalms about it – “The day is yours, and yours also the night; you established the sun and moon.  It was you who set all the boundaries of the earth; you made both summer and winter.”~Psalm 74:16-17

Genesis 8:22 ~ “As long as the earth endures, seed time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night will never cease.”

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

6 responses

  1. Even though I dislike winter, I am at an age that I can either stay inside or travel to a warmer climate. I love that you love each day as it happens & how you tell about it in such a poetic way. Thanks for your blog.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

