Stop fishing

Patience is not always my strong suit.  It’s a virtue that I’ve tried hard to develop over the years and I think I’ve succeeded somewhat.

When that overwhelming urge wells up in me to complain over the slowness of the checkout line, or the traffic ahead of me, I’ve learned to squelch it.  I silently ask myself what’s my big hurry?  Is waiting five more minutes going to make that much of a difference?  The answer is usually no.

But when I’m forced to wait for answers to the big deals in my life, I admit it isn’t so easy.  Currently, I’m in waiting mode.   My jet plane is flying in a holding pattern, just circling the landing strip, waiting for the signal that all is well, proceed to land.  And it’s not easy.

I heard a snippet of information today that made an impact on my way of thinking.   Corrie ten Boom survived the heinous Nazi concentration camps during World War II, and wrote the book, The Hiding Place.   She once commented that God cast our sins into the depths of the ocean and then posted a sign that read “No Fishing Allowed.”

I liked the visual picture her words painted for me.  And it prompted me to take this picture and apply it to my current holding pattern.   I think we can cast our anxieties into the depths of the ocean just like God throws our sin into the deep.

If God is majestic enough to take care of the tiniest piece of plankton or the smallest sea creature in that ocean, He can handle any problem I encounter.   He has the power to control the tides of the vast seas and if He is mighty enough to do that, He is powerful enough to wash my worries and concerns out to sea with the waves He commands.

But here’s where I must do my part.  Once I cast my cares on Him, into the ocean of His love and sovereignty, I need to stop fishing them back out.  Today on this 18th page of Chapter One in my new book of Opportunity, I need to put down my fishing pole, pick up my Bible and wait for God’s perfect timing.

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” ~ 1 Peter 5:6-8 (New International Version)

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

5 responses

  1. I love this, you ever think of publishing a devotional book?

    What a picture that was painted in my mind, that I hope I don’t soon forget. I also put down my fishing pole, and will share the Corrie Ten Boom story with those who are struggling.
    You are a blessing to me, my sweet friend.
    Love you bunches.

    Like

    • The thought of writing a devotional book has crossed my mind. I’ll have to take it to the Lord in prayer. Thank you so much for your kind words! That is always my hope as I write my blog, that someone would be touched and blessed and pass it on to someone else. ♥ to you too!!

      Like

  2. Thank you for this reminder to always be waiting for the Lord’s timing in all things. I do not know what the trials are in your life at this time, but the Lord does. I will pray for you and yours. We, too are currently experiencing our own fiery furnace of trials, and are learning that when we come out of the crucible we will be purified of the dross. I am thankful for the trials, but they are very difficult to bear at times. By the Lord’s amazing grace, we will have victory and blessings in the end. The Lord works all things for our good and for His glory. Romans 8:28 The Lord bless you and keep you, dear sister.

    Like

    • Thank you my dear friend for praying for us. Please know I’ll keep you in my prayers too for whatever circumstances you are going through. Honestly, I don’t know how those who don’t know God get through life. Isn’t it great to know the end of the story?? 🙂

      Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

