Every day

blog028Sometimes when we utter the simplest words they can evoke profound meanings if we just think about it.

Have you ever noticed how easily we banter words around?  Often we say things without even really contemplating what the words mean.  Or even what they may sound like to another person.

That’s why there is so much misunderstanding among us humans.  In this great age of communication, we still have trouble really communicating.  We say things without thinking.  Instead of considering how we should answer a question thoughtfully, we just spout off the first thing that comes to mind.

I answered a question my husband asked me recently in that way.  Off the cuff.  Speaking without forethought.  And as soon as the words left my mouth, I realized what I said wasn’t what I truly meant.  Let me explain.

In my urge to purge state, I’ve been doing some much-needed cleaning around the house.  Especially after Christmas, I’m inclined to spruce up the house with extra care.  While dusting and vacuuming the living room, I picked up the “coffee table” book and decided to replace it.  Does anyone else besides me place a “special” book on that table?

For all the years we’ve been married, we’ve kept a fine-looking book on the living room coffee table right next to the crystal dish hubby and I received as a wedding gift.  We’ve collected a few of these type books and I rotate them every few months.

Our collection includes books with stunning photographs of places we have lived over the years, a book of Robert Frost poems flanked with corresponding pictures, a Norman Rockwell compilation showcasing his art and a book entitled Portrait of Jesus.

That book embellished our table during the Christmas season.  I picked it up and as I deposited it back on the book shelf, my husband asked me what I was doing.  I flippantly replied, “Putting Jesus away.”

As soon as the words rolled off my tongue, I thought, “What a statement to make!”  I tried to correct my thoughtless remark to my husband by adding, “Of course, I’m not really putting Jesus away.”  And then my mind started to veer off as it so often does.

I wondered how many of us do in fact put Jesus away after Christmas.  During the holy season, we talk about Jesus, we sing about Him, we perform acts of charity in His name, we read our Bibles about Him and we talk about keeping Christ in Christmas.

But what about the days that follow Christmas?  Do we still talk about and to Him, sing about Him, do good in His name, tell others about Him?  Is He the vital aspect of every day of our lives?  Or is His place of relevance simply put aside until Easter?

I don’t know about you, but I’m not putting Jesus away, today on this 13th page of Chapter One (January 13, 2011) in my Opportunity book or any day.  Every day I’ll walk with Him.

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

