Chapter One

blogIMG_0358A new day in a new year.  The thought is a little daunting.

An entire year lies ahead of me and I must find topics worthy to write about in my blog. Three hundred sixty-five blank pages await me.  With what will I fill those pages?

Lots of people make resolutions for the New Year, I don’t.   Oh, don’t misunderstand me.  There are many, many things in my life that need improvement.  But it’s not necessary to make resolutions to do that; I only need to borrow the old Nike theme, “Just Do It.”   So on this monumental day, 1-1-11, and in the days that follow, I will not blog about resolutions.

English writer G.K. Chesterton said: “The object of a new year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul.”   Of course, I should concentrate on having a healthy mind and body during this coming year, but I’m more concerned with my soul and the souls of others.

As I write my “book” in this blog, I feel certain that my observations about life will entail a lot of soul-searching as well.  I’m hopeful that my readers will join with me as I begin yet another journey.

“We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” ~Edith Lovejoy Pierce, poet

Will you join me as we begin another opportunity?  Chapter One.  Page One.  January 1, 2011

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Seven – perfect link number « Mama's Empty Nest

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

