What are you doing New Year’s Eve?

It’s New Year’s Eve.  7:30 p.m.  It’s dark and it’s quiet here at my house.  In just a few hours, it will be 2011.

On the other side of the world, New Year’s Eve has come and gone.  That part of the globe has already begun 2011 – a brand new year.

The words of an old song keep rambling around my mind tonight – “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?”

“Maybe it’s much too early in the game
Aah, but I thought I’d ask you just the same
What are you doing New Year’s
New Year’s eve?
Wonder whose arms will hold you good and tight
When it’s exactly twelve o’clock that night
Welcoming in the New Year
New Year’s eve
Maybe I’m crazy to suppose
I’d ever be the one you chose
Out of a thousand invitations
You received
Aah, but in case I stand one little chance
Here comes the jackpot question in advance:
What are you doing New Year’s
New Year’s Eve?”

I know who I’m spending New Year’s Eve with, the same person I’ve spent this holiday with for over three decades, my husband.  We’re spending a peaceful evening at home, just the way we like it.  For the younger set in the family, they are celebrating with friends.

It seems to me that so many people worry about having plans for New Year’s Eve.  But I think we should focus more on what plans we have for the entire new year which lies ahead, not just this evening.  I’m not suggesting making resolutions, which we end up breaking in a few weeks or months.

Instead I wonder what will those of us who are believers in Christ do to further His kingdom in the coming year?   How will we reach out to those who don’t know Him as their Savior and Lord of their lives? What shall we do to encourage those who are hurting and alone?

We’ve got an entire year ahead of us, God willing, to put some plans into practice.  So my question for myself and you is not “What are you doing New Year’s Eve?”   Instead it is “What are you doing in the new year?”

Happy New Year!

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

