One season following another

sunsetSunrise, sunset.  Sunrise, sunset.  They happen each and every day, yet I think most of us take those events for granted.

My middle daughter is a wonderfully devoted and caring nurse at a fairly large hospital in the city and she’s been working the night shift steadily for a few weeks now.  She posted a photo of a recent sunrise from a hospital window on her Facebook and added this comment: “God is smiling down on us today.”

I commented back that God smiles down on us every day, we just don’t always pay attention, and that set my contemplation wheels spinning.

I have to admit I’m not much of a sunrise person, not because I don’t appreciate sunrises, on the contrary I think they are magnificent and simply amazing.  Viewing one is an inspiring way to start your day.  My problem is wanting to get up early to greet the sun as it makes its way into the eastern horizon.

Sunsets are equally as exquisite and awe-inspiring and I enjoy them regularly from our backyard deck.  I’ve even managed to capture a few of them with my digital camera.  The colors spreading across the western sky vary as the seasons change and a sunset never disappoints me.

I’ve been fortunate enough to witness the sun rise on the Atlantic Ocean and set on the Pacific Ocean (of course not on the same day!).   Having lived in the Pacific Northwest, we made many trips to the coast and I have sensational photos of the sunsets on the Pacific to prove it.

Since we moved back to the homeland, my family has taken several vacations to the beach on the Atlantic Ocean.  One time we all specifically arose early enough to see the sun edge its way up from the ocean’s horizon.  Spectacular!

And to think that this technicolor scenic event happens every single day, whether we witness it or not.   I think we miss so many stunning sights daily because we don’t take the time to look for them or wait for them either, for that matter.

I was pondering this on my drive home from work today.  In typical November fashion, the day proved dreary, chilly, and rainy and dark clouds laced their wispy fingers over the gray skies every way I turned.  But coming home, suddenly, and only for a few moments, the sun emanated beaming rays of light down through the clouds.  Sunbeams! What a picture!  I wished I had my camera along so I could share this sight with you.  (Note to self: carry camera in purse at all times.)

You know, I could have missed this brief but beautiful sight had I been preoccupied with thoughts of dinner preparation or why the driver in front of me was not going the speed limit on the highway or how I couldn’t wait to get home and unwind from my busy day.

Since Thanksgiving is coming, I’ve been attempting to take notice of those things I usually don’t take time to think about and express my gratitude for them.   Sunrises, sunsets, and rays of sunshine are just some of my favorite things.

May I invite you to join me in an attitude of gratitude?  Let’s block off a little time in our day, wait for a sight to behold, and reflect on a blessing we usually miss because of our busy-ness.  Perhaps you will notice something for which you hadn’t thought to be thankful.  I sure have.

“In certain moments our eyes can see and our ears can hear what is there about us always.” ~ Unknown

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

