Homecoming homecoming

It’s a happy day at our house – homecoming for homecoming.  Yes, you read that correctly, you’re not seeing double.

I am encouraged by the gloriously warm and sunny fall day that has enfolded today.  But I’m also delirious with joy because my son arrived home last night from the state next door where he works and lives.

Seeing his face at the door made me want to squeal with delight.  I hugged him and kind of jumped up and down while I embraced him and that made him chuckle out loud.  His mama is crazy about him and her two daughters and misses all of her chicks, so I just could not contain my glee over son’s homecoming for the weekend.

He won’t stay long as he’s actually driving to his college alma mater to attend the homecoming celebration.   He’ll cheer on former teammates at the men’s soccer game today and probably wistfully remember last year when he was team captain.

Tomorrow he’ll don his soccer cleats to play in the alumna vs. varsity team soccer match and he will relish that.  Then he’ll congregate and catch up with his friends who are now spread hither and yon with new jobs and lives.  I know he’ll have a great time full of friends, fun, and fellowship.

Sunday he’ll drive back here and I’ll be doubly cheerful because middle daughter will drive up from the city also.  So two of Mama’s three chicks will visit the empty nest, even though it will be a very short stopover.

But having them here, even for a brief time, will make my heart sing.  I’ll also get to see oldest daughter soon, so I’ll probably be breaking out in happy songs a lot – spending time with my grown children just compels me to have explosions of joy. I can’t help it!

On the practical side of things, son will pack up some of his belongings in the cluttered basement to take back with him.  He’s found a permanent place to reside, so it’s time to load up boxes with dishes, pots and pans, towels, and other household goods that have been taking up space waiting for him.  (Remember that “too much stuff” post?  Finally, I will get rid of some of that stuff!)

I’ve got that happy, happy, joy, joy spirit!  Where? Down in my heart!

 “Happiness is a grateful spirit, an optimistic attitude, and a heart full of love.”  Can I get an amen to that?

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

One response

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

