Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?

blogIMG_0371Wandering up and down the aisles.   Turning left, then turning right.   Searching, seeking, hunting.

While rambling through a local discount store one day in pursuit of a particular item, I found it rather amusing that U2’s song, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For,” accompanied my quest as it was played on the store’s public address system.

I continued exploring the store singing “I have run, I have crawled, I have scaled these city walls, these city walls, only to be with you.  But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for.  But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for.”

And I didn’t find what I was looking for. I departed the store without the item, but with that song firmly anchored in my head.  The lyrics reminded me how often we humans search, explore, and literally travel on a quest to find some spiritual meaning to life, yet the answer is right in front of us.

One day a few summers ago, our garage door stood open for most of the day.   Son was trimming the yard and whacking down the weeds with the weed-eater, so he was in and out of the garage.   I was outside pulling weeds from the flower beds.

When we finished and were closing the door, we realized a tiny bird had flown into the garage and couldn’t find his way out.  That little thing was in an absolute frenzy.   He flew frantically from one corner of the garage to the other. He lit on the extension ladder, which hung on the wall, to rest for a second, and then off he flew again.  He even perched periodically on the open garage door itself, but could not seem to figure his way out of his predicament.

Son, middle daughter, and I attempted to aid his escape, but he became even more panicked.  Our cat never took her eye off him, obviously expecting a tasty bird dinner sometime soon.   After shooing the cat away, I thought surely the bird would come to his senses and fly out.

But he persistently flew into the ceiling of the garage over and over again, as if he could make an opening to escape by banging his head into the wall.  Soon he was bleeding.  We all felt such pity for this little creature and expected him to die either from exhaustion or smacking his head on the ceiling one too many times.

Finally, he discovered his way out and escaped.   The thing was the double car garage door was open the entire time.   The way was clear and wide open, yet that little bird couldn’t seem to see it.

Aren’t we just like that bird?

blogIMG_0380We get so caught up in our situations, distressed and distraught, and we bang our heads in frustration until we’re bloodied.

We panic and in our fluster, run around like a chicken with its head cut off, pardon the connection.

And the entire time, the answer, the help we need, or the solution is right there.   In front of us.  The door is open.  Every time we lose our way, God is there to help us out.

We don’t have to search.  We don’t have to wander aimlessly. He’s there, waiting.  He flings the door wide open for us to come to Him.  All we have to do is walk through it.   He is what we’re looking for.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

2 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

