A Seventh of a Year

Here’s a profound quote for you – “We spend approximately one-seventh of our lives on Monday.”

If you haven’t figured out yet, I love the written word.  I not only like writing my own words, I actually collect other people’s words.  (So be careful what you say to me, it just might end up on my blog!)

Dating probably back to my high school days, I have kept a folder filled with quotations, short poems, and thoughts written on scraps of paper or torn out of magazines.  Not my own words, but other people’s, famous and ordinary.

Every once in a while I scan through the folder, usually when I’m in a cleaning mood, but I never can bring myself to actually throw the words in my folder away.  That folder has survived more moves than most of my other belongings over all these years.

When I used to make my own greeting cards, the verses came in handy, but I rarely construct my own cards these days.  Because of my background as a former English teacher and newspaper journalist, the task of publishing newsletters for different organizations ranging from churches to PTAs to Cub Scouts managed to fall on me.   Sometimes my folder delivered filler material for those newsletters.

But that was years ago.  The only newsletter responsibility I have nowadays is proof-reading the e-letter that the non-profit I’m employed by sends to donors and friends.

So why do I save these words of wisdom, gems of greatness,  editions of expressions, illustrations of insights,  and pages of perception?  You got me.

Today, however, I gleaned the quote above from that beat-up folder.   It’s Monday and as far as Mondays go, it was a typical one.  I usually work on Mondays; today was no exception.  I performed my usual assignments,  met with a co-worker about an upcoming event, and generally started gearing up for my job’s busy season.   Back home, I also performed my usual Monday tasks, which included making dinner for hubby and me.

So one-seventh of my week was spent in the usual fashion today, with the exception of writing this blog post.  And that’s my point for today.

If I just live my life in normal mode every day performing the same routine week after week, year after year, what difference am I making in this world?

I’m not a flamboyant person or someone who you would define as extraordinary.  I’m just ordinary.

But my desire is to accomplish something extraordinary, even if that something is just causing one other person to be encouraged for this day.

Or causing one person to examine the way he leads his life and make a change for the better.   Or causing one person to open her Bible and come to know my personal Savior as her own.  Or causing one person to find comfort, warmth, friendship, joy, or peace.  That’s why I write this blog.

“Don’t just fill your life with years. Fill your years with life.”  Another quote from my faithful folder.  Biblical scholars believe wise King Solomon wrote the book of Ecclesiastes, and in it, he states that obsessions we chase after like wisdom, pleasure, toil (work), advancement, and riches are actually all meaningless.

A life centered on attaining those aspects to glorify and please ourselves instead of using them to serve and glorify God has no purpose.  I am guilty as charged and I need to examine how I spend each day – that one-seventh of my week – as it comes.  And in doing so, God may use me to do something extraordinary, and I might not even be cognizant of it.   That is my hope for this day and each one to follow.

“Teach me, O Lord, to follow your decrees; then I will keep them to the end.  Give me understanding, and I will keep your law and obey it with all my heart.  Direct me, in the path of your commands, for there I find delight.  Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain.  Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.”  ~ Psalm 119:33-37

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

3 responses

  1. I love how things just come into the right perspective! We do seem to get caught up in the same old rut of yester-year…It is high time to re-evaluate how we spend our days and look for ways to “redeem the time.” Thanks 🙂

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

