Strength of our Nation

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

September 11, 2001 – a day most adult Americans will never forget.   In my lifetime, I have never experienced fear like I felt that day.

On a business trip out-of-state with a co-worker, all we could think of that day was getting back home to our loved ones.  And that’s exactly what we did.

On this day nine years later, as we remember and reflect, my husband and I were privileged to attend one of the most rousing and inspiring shows I’ve seen in a very long time – the United States Army’s Spirit of America 2010 Tour.

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Image:  ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Performed by men and women from the 3rd US Infantry Regiment “Old Guard,” including the Fife and Drum Corps, the Drill Team, and Continental Color Guard, and the US Army Band “Pershing’s Own,” the show brought our country’s history to life through the eyes of the American soldier.   These amazingly talented soldiers held us captive for over two hours with moving songs, narration, enactments, instrumental music, and stunning precision from the Army’s drill team.

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

The arena was packed and several times the vignettes and music brought tears to my eyes and standing ovations from the crowd.  Especially meaningful was when past military members in the audience were asked to rise from their seats,  be recognized, and given the applause they deserve.

I proudly watched my husband stand as an ex-US Army officer.  An elderly gentleman near us stood as erect and proud as he must have stood in formation as a former US Marine corps man all those years ago.

I could try to describe the overwhelming sense of patriotism and pride that I believe every one in that arena felt today, but instead I’m going to allow my pictures do the talking for me.

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Image: ©mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

The strength of a nation.   That’s what this splendid show portrayed.

God bless America, land that I love.   Land of the free and home of the brave.

Thank you, American soldiers, for keeping it that way!

 

 

 

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

