September Song

blog066The days dwindle down to a precious few.  The days grow short when you reach September.

Those words are from a song made famous by the late Frank Sinatra and they came to my mind today.

We’re already over a week into the month of September.  Don’t the days seem to pass quickly for all of us but the young?

Fall is certainly on its way.   Daylight grows shorter every succeeding day.  There is definitely a chill in the air.  Mornings are crisp and cool enough to take your breath away.  Leaves will begin turning their fabulous fall colors very soon.

I love living in a place where we see distinct changes in the four seasons and I praise our creator God for giving us the beauty of each.   But autumn is my favorite season of all.  Summer is usually just too hot and humid for me, although I do enjoy the time to relax, the sunshine, and the bounty of our vegetable and flower gardens.

A lot of people dislike winter, but I don’t.  I love to watch the snow flakes dance and twirl through the air and the sight of the first few snowfalls blanketing the earth is beautiful.  I also take pleasure in the quietness of the season, when you can curl up by the fireplace, snuggle under a blanket for warmth, and read with a hot cup of tea to sip.

Spring is exciting and I welcome that season as well.  After the bleakness of winter when everything is colorless, it’s encouragement to my soul to see spring flowers poking their heads up out of the ground and blessing us with a profusion of color.  When the trees start to bud and blossom and the grass greens up, it renews my spirit.

But fall — I love you.  Warm, sunny days when the leaves are brilliantly splashed with the colors of red, yellow, and orange followed by cool refreshing nights that require me to search for the warmth of a sweatshirt make me deliriously happy.   The crispness in the air invigorates me for some reason and I get surges of energy to accomplish things.  I love walking in the woods, hearing the crunch of leaves under my feet, and just the very smell of the fall season.   I’m amazed that two very important occasions in my life happened in the fall.   I met my beloved in autumn and three years later – also in the fall – he became my cherished mate for life  when we became man and wife.

So today, my post is a tribute to fall, my preferred season of all.  Enjoy this video set to the music of “September Song” with me.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

“Oh, it’s a long, long while from May to December
But the days grow short when you reach September
When the autumn weather turns the leaves to flame
One hasn’t got time for the waiting game.

Oh, the days dwindle down to a precious few
September, November
And these few precious days I’ll spend with you
These precious days I’ll spend with you.”    ~
lyrics from “September Song”

3 responses

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

