Picture This

Show me.   Let me see it.  Paint me a picture.  Draw me a map.  Diagram that.  Give those numbers to me on a chart.

No, I am not a resident of the “show me” state of Missouri, although we did live in the suburbs of Kansas City for eight years on the Kansas side. 

I’m one of those people categorized as a visual learner, and I’ve just recognized that in the last few years.

I’ll master a concept faster if you demonstrate how something works than if you simply tell me how it works.  I’m also a hands-on learner, let me process something step by step myself while you tell me how and I retain the information better.

Spelling has always been easy for me; when I spell a word, I actually visualize the letters in my mind.  I literally can “see” each letter as I spell.  Sometimes when I style the back of my hair, I close my eyes to visualize the back of my head.  [See kids, I really do have eyes in the back of my head!]

I like to look at people I’m listening to; I track them because I pay attention to their movements, their facial expressions, and their body language.  I’ve also discovered that I teach in a visual manner as well; utilizing props to demonstrate my point and employing object lessons is right up my alley.

Sometimes I describe ideas by painting a visual picture because that’s how I see the ideas.   I’m practical-minded and I’ve often referred to myself as the weight which holds down a helium balloon.  Other people have the creative, lofty, big idea, so they are the balloons.  I’m the weight which anchors the big idea because I perceive the practicality of the idea and sometimes what can’t be done logically.

I’ve often criticized myself for this aspect,  because I think I rain on people’s creative parades.  But a dear friend once explained to me that balloon people would never get anything accomplished just flitting from idea to idea if a weight didn’t ground them to get the job done.  I imagine it would be so much more exciting to be the free-floater than the holder-downer though.

That’s just one example of how my visual learner mind works. What my eyes perceive and how it translates in my brain must be why pictures are so vital to me. I think it’s absolutely true that a picture is worth a thousand words.   That’s why I’m posting several photos from my point of view today.

I don’t believe I’m capable of adequately portraying these pictures in words.  The photos amazingly depict an occurrence that happens every day in my back yard.  It’s a gift God reveals to us, yet sometimes remains unseen because we don’t take the time to gaze upon this gift.

I’m talking about sunsets.  Here are some samples taken from our deck on different days throughout the year.

blogCindy's 006

blogdscn0316

blogdscn0031

Viewing the photos reminds me of an old hymn:

Open my eyes, that I may see
Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
Place in my hands the wonderful key
That shall unclasp and set me free.

Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready my God, Thy will to see,
Open my eyes, illumine me,
Spirit divine!”

You don’t have to be a visual learner to see the beauty of God’s creation.  It’s all around us.  I can’t imagine how a person could survey the majesty of His creation and declare that God doesn’t exist.  His handiwork is in everything my eyes behold.

The Bible says in the book of Matthew, “The eye is the lamp of the body.  If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light.  But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness.  If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!” ~ Chapter 6:22-23

There’s much darkness in our world today and human kind seems to struggle with finding God through the overwhelming dimness.   Other verses in Matthew also paint a picture that resembles our times.  “For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes.  Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them. But blessed are your eyes because they see, and your ears because they hear.” ~ Chapter 13:15-16

That’s what’s wrong with our world — so many have closed their eyes and let the darkness overtake them.   Opening our eyes is what enables us to see the light of the world, and that light is Jesus Christ.   As beautiful and glorious as the sunsets from my back deck appear to my eyes, they can’t compare in any way to the view we’ll experience when we meet our Lord face to face.

“However, as it is written:  No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.” ~1 Corinthians 2:9

If you’re wandering aimlessly in the darkness and you don’t know Jesus Christ, I hope you take some time to sit on your deck, porch, or anywhere; open your eyes and heart; partake of the view God’s given you; and ask Jesus to meet you there.   He will and He’ll lead you out of the void.  All you have to do is ask Him.

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” ~ Hebrews 12:12

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

2 responses

  1. Another really good word spoken here. Thank you for your insight. Love the “anchor” concept, I too am full of common sense and glad I’m not alone out there. Kansas City, huh? Me too. South, on the MO side. I look forward to read your posts each day. Sometimes the word kindred spirit comes to mind. 🙂

    Like

  2. Well, new friend, I think there are a lot of people like us out there (full of common sense); we just don’t get the press that the balloon people do because they are the ones with the BIG IDEAS! 😀 So we have KC in common too, huh? Isn’t that something? I am thrilled (really) that you look forward to reading my posts. Thank you, most humbly.

    Like

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

