Looking through glass dimly to see the Son

blogDSCN6772I feel as though I’m looking at my surroundings today with dim eyes or through a fine mesh screen which casts a dismal view over what I see.

And there’s nothing wrong with my vision.  This view from my deck reflects what I mean.

In addition to being Monday, it’s been a slightly rainy, majorly overcast day today.  I could sing, “Rainy days and Mondays always get me down” here, but really that’s not my point.  Being a Monday is not what makes me see dimly and I’m not feeling downcast either.

Today the world just looks bleak to me, even though we are still in summer’s season.  Flowers still bloom; grass and leaves on the trees are still lushly green.

The color is still visible, but somehow muted.  It’s so overcast today that it appears like a dull gray pall covers everything.

The sun is nowhere to be seen, and in spite of the fact that I’m not much of a summer person, I am a sun person.  I love sunny days; I love to see the sun reflect off of water or anything that catches those golden rays.

The sun elicits vibrant colors of flowers in our garden, pots, and porch boxes;  the verdant green of our yard and leaves of the trees, and the blissful blue of the sky with those cotton candy clouds.  But not today.

As I write these words, God brings a scripture to my mind, “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:12  (King James Version)

It does seem like I am seeing through a glass darkly today.  This scripture vividly reminds me what any day without Jesus Christ must be like, for He is the Son (sun).  Without Him in my life, things would look bleak, dark, even confused.

I grabbed my Bible to read and examine this verse the Apostle Paul wrote to the Corinthians and to us today.  I think he’s telling us, “Just wait!”  What we can’t see now, or don’t understand now, and what appears difficult to define now will be revealed in full glory for us when we, who He knows so intimately, meet our Savior face to face in heaven.

There we’ll see the “big picture,” revealed in a more vibrant, brilliantly technicolored scene than we could ever imagine here on earth.  And let’s face it, we’ve got some pretty impressive colors and scenes here on earth to behold!

When our sun, THE son Jesus Christ, shines – whether it’s when we enter glory or He returns to earth in all His glory – it will be dazzling!

The luminous light of heaven will remove all the obscuring clouds and darkness that now hides the face of God from us.  What a day that will be!

Isaiah 32:3 ~ “The eyes of those who see will not be dim, and the ears of those who hear will listen.” (King James Version)

The sun may not be shining in the sky today, but it’s shining in my heart.  Let the redeemed of the Lord say so!

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

