Dog Gone Summer Days

blogdscn0239I’m dogged by the dog days of summer, dog gone it!

Most of the month of August is behind us, yet some hot summer weather visited my neck of the woods this week.

Yesterday my trusty thermometer hanging outside my kitchen window reported it was 90 degrees at our house.

Did you ever wonder from where that term “dog days” came?  I have.  My research defines dog days of summer as the hottest, most sultry days of the season.

This period of time is supposedly when the Dog Star, Sirius, rises at the same time as the sun, at least that’s what the ancients believed.  In the northern hemisphere of the world where we live, it is the period of time between early July and early September, but in my mind I always think of dog days in August.

Apparently you can also use the term to describe “an event that is very hot or stagnant marked by dull lack of progress” or “a period marked by lethargy, inactivity, or indolence.”

That says it all about dog days to me!  When the weather is hot and humid and the air seems stagnant, I am dull, lethargic, and inactive.  I definitely have a profound lack of progress, and I wouldn’t describe myself as dogged about anything because I don’t want to exert myself.

If you haven’t guessed by now, I’m really not a summer person.  The heat and humidity sometimes make me feel sick as a dog.  Perhaps I should be dogmatic about summer.  If I were not so indolent and feeling a bit more creative, I’d write a funny doggerel about summer.  But I can’t, I’m lazy and too dog tired.

However, there are some aspects of this season that I do enjoy.  For a few evenings this summer, it’s been cool enough to open the windows and our French door to the deck.  I savor cool evening breezes ushering in fresh air, the kind that bestows upon you a graceful respite from air conditioning.

Sitting outside on the deck in the quietness of the evening is relaxing.  Stars glimmer in the dark summer night sky and the radiant moon “hits your eye like a big pizza pie.”  (That’s from the song “That’s Amore.”)

Breathing in the fresh evening air, I close my eyes and just listen.   No traffic noises.  No barking dogs.  No people having loud conversations.  No loud music or televisions blaring.  Just crickets serenading me with their summer song is all I hear.  I say, “Bravo!” to the free concert they provide to me.

And that, my friends, is why I love living in the country– even in the summer time.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

