Universally Uncanny

What you are about to read is so random, I can only attribute it to the Lord God, great and mighty in power whose understanding has no limit.

You know how you get a song stuck in your mind and no matter how diligently you try, that song keeps playing over and over inside your gray matter?  It’s like someone just keeps hitting the replay button.

Music is one of those categories that has a permanent spot in my brain anyway.  Some of my family and I have the uncanny ability to instantly think of a song (and usually burst out singing that song) when any given topic is thrown at us.

Today the song stuck in my mind wasn’t prompted by a word, but by images my eyes viewed.  I used to sing this song at church probably back in the early 70’s, and the lyrics I keep hearing in my head are:

In the stars His handiwork I see,
On the wind He speaks with majesty.
Though He ruleth over land and sea,
What is that to me?”

Now here’s the unexplainable part.  At my job today, I was researching my field of work.  I’ve been cleaning out some internet files on my computer especially those that have been saved on my favorites list for a later “look-see.”  As I was sentencing some of those websites to exile in the recycle bin, one site appeared that I don’t ever remember viewing, and it boasted a very prominent link to www.hubblesite.org.  So naturally I clicked on that link.

First let me say absolutely nothing  in my particular field of work relates to science, engineering, space, or anything in that line of study.  But the link I clicked on is the website for the Hubble telescope.  There are the most amazing pictures of the universe, stars, planets, and galaxies on this site all viewed with the Hubble.

How these two worlds (my world and space) mingled, I do not know.  I’m still wondering with great puzzlement why the Hubble telescope site even appeared as a link on a website related to what I do.

But appear it did in magnificent color photographs and those images my eyes beheld [one of those images you see above for yourself] instantly dialed up the Rolodex of my mind to recall this song I no longer sing but obviously have not forgotten.

As I pondered this (and sang the song) the entire way home from work today, I could only deduce that God wanted me to see His handiwork today and fill me with wonder and awe.   And He wanted me to know how majestic, how powerful, how absolutely amazing He is because He created these sights for our eyes to behold!  And yet, as omnipotent as He is, He loves and cares about insignificant me.

But more than that, I believe He wanted me to share with my world (that’s you)  these images and words straight from His Holy Word, so you too remember (or maybe read for the first time) that He loves and cares for you.

Psalm 8 so eloquently tells me (and you) this:

Oh Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!  You have set your glory above the heavens….When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,  [singing “In the stars His handiwork I see..”]
What is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?” [singing “… What is that to me? Til by faith I met Him face to face, And I felt the wonder of His grace, Then I knew that He was more than just a God who didn’t care, that lived away out there and Now He walks beside me day by day, Ever watching o’er me lest I stray, Helping me to find that narrow way, He is everything to me.”]

I believe with my entire heart, mind, and soul that my Lord God, who “determines the number of the stars and calls them each by name” (Psalm 147:4) desires that today we know who He is so that we may “shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life.” (Philippians 2:15)

 He’s everything to me! 

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

