I wanna be a daydream believer!

DSCN6480Today my friend/co-worker and I were discussing vacation, or I really should say the lack of one.  

It’s summer,  it’s vacation time, and it seems everyone is chatting happily about planning a vacation or going on one and rightly so….except the two of us evidently.

So as I ate my measly lunch, which consisted of a container of peach low-fat yogurt, a package of peanut butter crackers —  yeah, those orange ones — and a glass of water, we were whining, (just a little) about this void in our lives.   You see, our boss is on vacation, so that prompted this discourse.

In my friend’s case, she is in the throes of planning her daughter’s wedding for this fall and you know what that means, no money for vacation.   Regarding my vacation-less state, it’s because my hubby started a new job this past year and alas, no time off yet.

I was lamenting the fact that my grown up children have recently vacationed and darn it, one of them is right now enjoying a week at the beach!  And heck, even my hairdresser was jaunting off to the balmy shores after she finished my hair cut last Saturday!  Waaahhh!  Poor me!

So my friend turned to me and asked me this thought-provoking question, “So if you could take a dream vacation, where would you go?”

Aha, put your money where your whiney mouth is.  And I sat there and I thought.   And I thought and I sat.   And I sat and I thought some more.

“Ummm……..,” I answered so intelligently.  So you’ve figured it out by now, I didn’t really have a good answer.   I did manage to mumble something about a place to totally relax, not have an agenda to adhere to, probably at a beach somewhere…..blah, blah, blah.  And my friend agreed with me and added,  “And lots of money to spend.”

Dream vacation?????  Why didn’t I have an amazingly exciting answer for that?!  Like some faraway and exotic place….Figi?  I dunno.   Safari in Africa?  I dunno.  Australia?  I dunno.   Hawaii?  I dunno!!

You know what the problem is?  I’m not a dreamer.  Oh, I dream prolifically at night while I’m sleeping.  And sometimes those dreams are wildly creative and exciting.  But daydream, not so much.

I don’t think I like that about myself.  I’m way too practical.  And economical.   Looking back at my younger days, I don’t ever remember one time when my mother threw up her hands and shouted, “Stop that daydreaming and get something done!”  Maybe she should have exclaimed, “Stop that getting something done and do some daydreaming!”

It’s not that I don’t want to be a daydream believer like sleepy Jean in the Monkees’ song.  I just don’t seem to be able to daydream.

So do I secretly have a dream vacation spot that I just don’t want to disclose? No.  Can I think of one?  No, not really.  It’s like asking me what is my favorite (you fill in the blanks).   Chances are I can tell you what I don’t like, but I can’t tell you what is my favorite.   Favorite food?  I dunno.  Food is food.  Favorite animal?  I dunno.  I have a cat.  Favorite song?  Hmmm…. I like a lot of music.  Favorite color?  I like yellow, but I like blue too.

WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME?  I think I need a vacation!!!!!!

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

