Milestone Musings

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.  Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs.  Know that the Lord is God.  It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.  For the Lord is good and his love endures forever, his faithfulness continues through all generations.”  ~ Psalm 100

The month of July, and it’s been July for 20 days now, has been making me meditate on some things.  I’ve realized that I’ve passed some major milestones lately.

Youngest child, who is definitely not a child but a very grown up man, graduated from college this spring.  Milestone passed: check.

One more birthday silently crept up on me and let’s just say it has brought me to the “down slide” half of the 50’s, kicking and screaming all the way!  Milestone passed: check.

Young adult children moving out of our home and into new and exciting lives of their own.  Milestone passed:  getting pretty darn close, give or take a couple of weeks.

Five-year mark of cancer-free living after that dreaded diagnosis.  Milestone passed: hopefully check to come after my next doctor’s appointment soon.

One year of feeling like an orphan.  Milestone passed:  at the end of this month, it will have been one year since my last living parent journeyed home to see Jesus.

Which brings me to the point of this entry, that milestone is hard.  That day is not gonna be easy for me.  This year has not been easy for me, but that is something we call life, ladies and gentlemen.  Life is hard.  Period.  But we have hope and a future as believers in Christ.  And for that I am joyful and I am grateful and I am going to sing — LOUDLY — praises to my King!

So instead of feeling sad beyond measure on the anniversary of my father’s physical death and crawling back into bed to cover up my head and wish the day away, which is what I know I will feellike doing, I’m choosing to celebrate.  I’m celebrating that my Savior died to save me.  I’m celebrating that my Savior has prepared a place for me in glory where I will be reunited with my loved ones.

AND I’m celebrating new beginnings and glorious young love at the wedding of my son’s friend that very weekend!  I will watch this lovely young couple begin their marriage with joy.  I will observe my son stand beside his friend as his best man supporting these two as they enter into holy matrimony, and oh what a day that will be!  This is the day that the Lord has made, we shall rejoice and be glad in it.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

