Readin’ and ‘Ritin’ but no ‘Rithmetic

Friday, 19 August 2005

Life is so strange and amazing sometimes.  So as you know, I’ve    been recuperating from cancer surgery this summer.  Lots of time on my hands.

There are a bazillion items I wanted to cross off my to-do list this summer…just stuff around the house, cleaning, organizing, going through major junk-a-rama in the basement and maybe making it into some kind of a cool hang-out spot for the kiddos.

So my to-do list still has too many to-do’s on it and summer is basically shot. Just took middle daughter back to college yesterday and Bud is already in the throes of two-a-day soccer practices.  That officially means summer is over!

Anyway, since I was not physically capable of accomplishing my summer tasks – although we did manage to get two bedrooms painted and rearranged – I have been spending a lot of time with my “nose stuck in a book,” as my mom used to say.

And it’s been quite the assortment of reading material – my Bible, some fiction, some non-fiction, some mysteries, and some classics.   I usually read Bud’s summer reading list for AP English.  Bah!  I don’t like this year’s choices!  Last summer, I read everything on the list.  This year, I managed to trudge through one, Anna Karenina, so far.  Oh mercy, it was agony.

And now I’m attempting Crime and Punishment and not enjoying it either.  Now before you think, “Ah well, she’s just a mom, she’s used to reading Women’s Day magazines,” please keep in mind I happen to be the proud owner of a bachelor’s degree in English.  But I am painfully reminded that Russian literature was never my forte!

So in between the “hard stuff” I read some lighter fare to give my brain a rest.  Well, one day I was at a local discount store and happened to see some paperbacks for a buck each.  I just can’t pass up a bargain and the girls in my family needed some quick and easy reads for the beach trip (more on that later), so I picked up a couple paperbacks entitled Malice Domestic #1 and #5.  They are collections of mystery short stories and I figured since we girls like to read mysteries, we might enjoy these.

I’m buzzing along reading and enjoying the short stories and I come across one written by EKS.  So I shout,  “Whaaaat?” to myself and think, “Whoa, I KNOW a lady named EKS.”    I turn to the end of the story to read the short biographical paragraph about the author and discover EKS is a native southwesterner and former journalist.

Major whoa!  Definitely sounds like the lady I know and used to work with at a newspaper in, you guessed it, this native state of hers.   So I did a little surfing the net, discovered her website and there it was – a picture of the EKS I know.

I’m so impressed, someone I personally know has actually published not just a short story but several mystery novels as well.  I think I’m a little jealous.

You see, back in the day when I was young and had no sense  (yes, I’m admitting it!) and wasn’t the proud mama of three amazing kids, I was a reporter/assistant editor at a daily newspaper.  Bet you didn’t know that!

I wrote stories every single day and was surrounded by people who also wrote every single day, one of them being EKS.  We used to converse at lunch or break and I distinctly remember her saying she wanted to write novels and I thought, yeah, me too…someday.

Well, for her the someday came.  For me, I write, a little and not very well, on a blog.  Hmmmmm.

©2005 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Comments (1)

You should write a book! We could write one together!

8.22.2005 — sunflower


So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

