Air That Refreshes

Thursday, 21 July 2005

It was so nice and cool last night, I slept with my windows wide open. I LOVE fresh air!  Especially cool fresh air.  It always makes me happy and thankful. 

So I am getting better, not entirely normal, but closer every day.   It’s been 5 weeks tomorrow since my surgery and I’m starting to do more every day type of things.  YAY!

Yesterday I actually went into my office  for a little while.  I got there in time for our weekly prayer session, which always is a meaningful and profound way to start your morning. 

It blessed me to see the ladies there, to get hugs and feel loved.  I even did a little work at my desk until around lunchtime, when my abdominal muscles said,  “Enough! Time to go home and lay on the couch!” 

Unlike my son, who lifts at the gym to get nice abs, my abs are sad.  Of course, it didn’t help that before my surgery, I was so out of shape.  But now, after having my belly sliced open – and I had 28 staples in “ma belly” to prove it –  my abs are REALLY sorry. 

They look sorry too – too many scars!  But which would I choose, scars on my tummy and no cancer or really fine-looking abs?  No brainer, definitely the first.  I’ll take door #1, no more cancer, thank you!

More news is that my radiation treatments are postponed for a little while.  Now that actually made me happy. More on that later.

I’ve been feeling a little anxious about the radiation, which is one of the reasons I am reading said book above.  (I’m still also reading Lies That Go Unchallenged, which I love).  But this book, subtitled Finding Peace in All Kinds of Weather, is helping me cope with anxiety.  It all comes down to one word – peace – and that peace comes only from a relationship with Jesus as your personal Savior.

So peace is my byword. Actually, it is MY word for the year 2005.  Way back at Christmas time, our staff and volunteers were given “words” for the upcoming year. 

When I opened mine and saw the word “peace” I was puzzled.  At first, I thought, “That’s strange,  I have peace.  There’s nothing I’m not at peace about.”  And then I got scared.  And I do mean scared.  I thought to myself,  “There is something major coming my way this year and it’s not going to be something I want to deal with.” 

Well, there you have it.  The something major was cancer.  Wow, if you don’t need peace after that, there is something wrong with you! 

I can’t even begin to count how many get well cards I’ve received with personal notes from people telling me they are praying for me to have…you guessed it….peace.  Hmmmm…get the drift?  Wow, God is so awesome.  He knows what you need before you do and then He supplies it, even during challenging and unpleasant times.

So, back to why I’m happy about my radiation being postponed.  First of all, I am having radiation as a precaution because the reoccurrence rate for the cancer goes down from 5-7% to 1-2%.  My radiologist is going out-of-town the week my treatment was supposed to start.  Since my treatments must be in succession once/weekly for four weeks, they are being postponed until later. 

Now you may think, oh, that just gives you more time to worry about it.  But that’s not the way I am thinking, praise God!  The way I’m looking at it is this gives me more time to pray and give the worry all up to God before I do have radiation treatments. 

AND, isn’t God good? My family might be able to take a little vacation now.  Before, there was no way it was possible with everyone’s schedules and my treatments.  Now there is a possibility!!!  Can you say vay-cay??  Yes!  I’m hoping and praying we all can go, get hotel reservations, etc.  I just see this as one of those “all God’s doing” things.  And I am soooooooo grateful.

So here’s the key word for today – PEACE!  Add it to the last key word, thankfulness.

Now just for frivolous sake and copying Punky’s blog, here’s a silly survey…

TWO YEARS AGO
1. I was worrying over my daughter in another state staying at a deserted college dorm and then with a family I didn’t know.

2. I was worrying over my other daughter beginning her senior year of high school and where she would end up going to college.

3. I was worrying over arguments with my son.
4. I was cranky, hot and tired all the time.
5. I had one lovely week of vacation at the beach on the Outer Banks. 

ONE YEAR AGO
1. I was proud to see one daughter graduate from college AND get a job.
2. I was proud to see another daughter graduate from high school and prepare to go off to college. 
3. I was teaching my son how to drive and we both survived.
4. I was still cranky, hot and tired all the time.
5. I was relaxing on the beach at Ocean City, MD on vacation.

 YESTERDAY
1. I got up early!
2. I went to work at my office for 3 hours.
3. I got another get well card in the mail and more hospital bills.
4. I went grocery shopping for the first time in 6 weeks with two of my kids,  which was like shopping with two 5-year-olds but fun.
5. I ate a yummy Italian ice and watched TV with Birdie (#2 daughter).

TODAY
1. I got up early again!
2. I got my hair cut and got to chat with my hairdresser/friend.
3. I went to the high school w/Bud to talk over his scheduling conflict with the guidance counselor.  The downside of going to a smaller school is you can’t always schedule all the demanding and challenging courses you want because there is only one section for them and they don’t fit your schedule. 

TOMORROW I WILL
1. Get up early for the third day in a row.
2. See my husband who has been out-of-town the last couple days.
3. Hopefully plan a vacation!
4. Make a good dinner.
5. Read, read, read and maybe watch a movie.

FIVE ITEMS I’M OBSESSED WITH
1. My family
2. Teaching young people  sexual integrity and abstinence
3. Internet Spades (it’s addictive)
4. Teapots and tea (if it’s hot, it has to be really hot and if it’s cold, really cold!)
5. Checking my email several times a day

SNACKS I ENJOY
1. Chocolate
2. Soft pretzels
3. Werther’s Originals
4. Tangerine sorbet from our local gelato place
5. Hot fudge sundae at Dairy Queen

FIVE THINGS I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT
1. Jesus
2. My family
3. Ice cubes
4. A watch
5. Fresh air
 
THINGS I WOULD BUY WITH $1000
1. A vacation
2. A treadmill
3. New family room furniture
4. A paved driveway
5. I don’t know what else
 
 FIVE BAD HABITS I HAVE
1. Being cranky
2. Worrying
3. Getting stressed over unimportant things
4. Being too critical
5. Yelling when I’m mad
 
 FIVE THINGS I WOULD NEVER WEAR
1. Anything tight
2. A 2-piece swimsuit (remember those sorry abs?)
3. Little ol’ lady clothes or teenybopper clothing
4. Overalls
5. Really short skirts or shorts

FIVE SHOWS I LIKE
1. Lost
2. The Amazing Race
3. Dancing With the Stars

4. Old game shows on the game show channel
5. Everybody Loves Raymond

FIVE PLACES I’VE LIVED
1. Here
2. Southwest
3. The ‘burbs in Midwest
4. Pacific Northwest
5. the country 

FIVE NAMES YOU GO BY:
1. Mom
2. Hey mom
3. Hey you
4. Mama
5. Mrs. M

FIVE THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF:
1. I’m goofy and fun (at least I think so).
2. I’m friendly.
3. I’m witty (at least I think so).

4. I’m a good judge of character.
5. I’m not so cranky any more!

THREE THINGS YOU DISLIKE ABOUT YOURSELF:
1. I’m sometimes too critical.
2. I worry too much.
3. I have panic attacks at the dentist.

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE:
1. English
2. German
3. Um….English again.

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU:
1. Life without God
2. Strange noises at night
3. Complete darkness and tight, over-crowded places

THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS:
1. Tea
2. Something to eat
3. My calendar (because I would forget all appointments)

THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW:
1. Old plaid shorts that I haven’t worn for a while
2. Sleeveless shirt to stay cool in
3. My glasses (don’t go anywhere without ’em)

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE BANDS/MUSICAL ARTISTS:
1. Relient K (my kids’ taste has infiltrated mine)
2. Michael W. Smith (saw him in concert)
3. Billy Joel (saw him too)

THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP:
1. Love
2. Honesty
3. Respect

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE OPPOSITE SEX THAT APPEAL TO YOU:
1. Nice hair
2. Kind eyes
3. Warm smile (hey, I’m old and I’m married!)

©2005 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Comments (1)

Thanks for the info.  I’ll have to read it sometime.  And I’m glad you like the pictures.  Those are two of my favorite pictures from Scotland.  I took the top one in the evening at Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness.  My friend Pat took the other one while we were visiting Sterling Castle in Sterling.

7.21.2005 – Dorkwad


So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

