Empty Nest Blues

Thursday, 18 October 2007

 The Empty Nest

I’m not exactly technologically sound, but I did finally figure out how to upload pictures from my camera onto my computer.  Ta-da!  I’m very proud of myself.   In a lot of my pictures are  three people who mean the world to me – my children.

To me, they are the best children any mom could ever ask for.  God truly blessed me when He gifted me with these three.

“Punky,” our oldest daughter, is smart, beautiful, goofy, an excellent writer, and loves to travel.  “Birdie,” our middle daughter, is smart, beautiful, compassionate, an actress and singer, and a joy to be around.  “Bud,” our son, is smart, handsome, funny, a whiz at math and science, and a good athlete.

We’re not a perfect family and we’ve had our ups and downs just like everyone does.  There have been arguments, fights, screaming matches, groundings, etc.  But these kids have turned into the most awesome young adults.  I take no credit and glory in that either — it’s definitely a God-thing!  He has truly worked wonders in each one of their lives and I am ever thankful to Him for that.

However, each one of these birdies has temporarily (for now, anyway) flown right out of mama’s nest.  Punky is on her own in another state; Birdie and Bud are both away at college.

What this means is…mama has a lot of time on her hands.  It used to be that mama was always in the car, meeting herself coming and going.  There were dance lessons, piano lessons, Girl Scout meetings, Cub Scout meetings, PTA meetings, volleyball practices, track & cross country practices, basketball, baseball and soccer practices and then more soccer practices, sports events, science fairs, sports tournaments, youth group meetings, chorus and band concerts, musicals, sports booster club meetings, honor society inductions, college visits, Christmas formal dance dresses and Prom dresses to buy and tuxes to rent, and then graduations to keep mama busy.

And now there’s an occasional college soccer game or cross country meet, but for the most part, there’s a job, laundry, dishes, housecleaning and watching hubby sleep on the couch.  Ho-hum…..

If you think I’m sad about the empty nest, you’re absolutely correct.  This house used to sing with young people’s voices and laughter and late-night game parties (Apples to Apples, Cranium, Twister, Jenga, you name it) and Dance Dance Revolution parties and Guitar Hero parties.  And now there’s just me, dear ol’ dad, and the cat silently watching TV.

There are some perks though – not so much laundry, a house that stays clean for a longer period of time, no messes, no smelly soccer socks and cleats strewn hither and yon, no mud in the car, smaller gasoline, electric and water bills, neat bedrooms, no backpacks or sports bags to trip over and then there is a lot of SILENCE…but it is definitely not as exciting around here anymore.

So Dad and I have to figure out what to do with ourselves, short of rocking our blues away on the front porch rockers.  There is a world of grown-up things out there to explore – museums, events, movies, libraries, maybe even a pro football game if we can afford tickets (two kids in college = no money).  So I’ll keep you posted.

©2007 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

Comments (4)

An update?! Whoa!

I know what you and Dad should do… come visit me!!

10/19/2007 sunflower

“Y’all” is DEFINITELY much better than “yinz” or “yunz” or… whatever.

GUESS WHAT?! I’ll be home in SEVENTEEN DAYS!!!!

11/5/2007 sunflower

Here is the definition of “meme,” according to dictionary.com:   a cultural unit (an idea or value or pattern of behavior) that is passed from one person to another by non-genetic means (as by imitation); “memes are the cultural counterpart of genes”
Hmm… alrighty, then! Whatever you say, dictionary.com

11/29/2007 sunflower

HELLO FROM MY FREAKIN AWESOME (AND ADORABLE) NEW LAPTOP!

Okay, now that THAT’S out-of-the-way 🙂 here we go:

1. Yep, my internet’s been working! Consistently! For like, the past week! This has never happened before; I’m not quite sure what to do with myself!

2. I just do, okay. I don’t like to talk about that period in my life… (just kidding)

3. Not very close at ALL. I used the zoom.

4. Sure, you can live at the beach, too! The more, the merrier!

5. Not baking  in 97 degree weather anymore! We’ve had a lot of rain lately from the hurricane… it’s been kind of nice, actually (although it’s still pretty humid)

8/27/2008 sunflower


So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

