Just what the doctor ordered

Image via wikihow.com

“Middle age is when you’re sitting at home on a Saturday night and the telephone rings and you hope it isn’t for you.”  ~Ogden Nash

This middle aged empty nest Mama has endured a busy week and next week will be just as hectic. 

So I’ve been looking forward to a restful and relaxing weekend and a short visit from my dear ones.

Come Sunday evening, the empty nest will be 4/5 full as son is stopping by on his way back to his abode in the state next door (on the east side of us) from his college friend’s wedding in the state next door (on the west side of us). 

If you managed to follow that, you’ll understand he needs a stopover with tasty food and a warm bed and what better place than his Mama’s (and Papa’s) empty nest?  Middle daughter is driving up from the city also to visit with her brother.

But before they arrive, this weary worker who wrought a week of wandering here and there, wrangling bins of promotional materials and goodies for giveaway, and warbling words of wisdom to wards of young whippersnappers is planning on some R and R (rest and relaxation).  That’s why I found this email I received from one of my friends entertaining and cute.

Knowing I’m in the middle of my busy season at my non-profit employer, my dear friend  created the perfect “prescription” for me and my weekend.  Please read “Dr. K’s” orders below:

“Dr. (not) K prescribes a:

Weekend of total rest and recoup.  Tomorrow sleep in until 9:30.  Have hot tea with sweeteners,  sweeteners being 4 cookies.

Then one long long shower or soaking bath, donning a pair of sweats afterwards.

Mosey over to the TV and watch nice happy movies for the whole day, stopping for grilled cheese for lunch and more tea and cookies for supper, to be followed by another hot bath/shower and a nice happy book for bedtime.

Repeat on Sunday, except for going to church.

Note here:  If you stay home on Sunday also,  the world won’t end, and you and God could have a wonderful long talk with a little communion on the side.”

I’m happy to report that in Chapter 4, Page 16 of my book of Opportunity, I am following my friend’s orders explicitly.  When I awoke at 6ish this morning, I promptly rolled over and went back to sleep.  And did I sleep in?  Did I ever!

For breakfast I drank my prescribed hot tea and included the sweeteners.  After a long hot shower, my body is relaxing in comfy clothes – sweatshirt and my crazy pajama pants with moons and stars.  (Praying for no unexpected visitors!)

I’ve already viewed one sappy, happy TV movie and plan to watch a few more from my spot on the couch, probably with calico kitty curled up in my lap.  It’s another dreary, rainy day here in the country so the allure of a good book to read is already enticing me.  And tomorrow, after church, I will follow the good “doctor’s” orders once again, at least until my grown up children arrive.

‘Dr. K’ sure knows how to write prescriptions, doesn’t she?  She definitely knows the prescription for being a wonderful friend.

P.S. You can check out her blog here: homesteadramblings.wordpress.com

©2011 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Just what the doctor ordered

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

