Why do doggies sing me love songs?

“Why do dogs suddenly appear anytime I am near?”  With apologies to The Carpenters, ["Close to You"] doggies long to be close to me!

I’m really not much of a dog person.  It’s not that I dislike dogs, I’m just not someone who wants to own one. The reason for that might be because when I was a youngster, our family almost always owned a cat,  never a dog.  But I think there may be more to it.

Cats have an “I’ll take you or leave you” kind of attitude.  But a dog wants to “take you,” all the time, at least most of the dogs I’ve ever met.

Dogs want your attention a lot, and they are just so social.  Cats come find you if they want something, can be very aloof, and they are not nearly as needy as dogs seem to be.

I own a cat, although we sometimes refer to her as a cat-dog because she has some dog-like aspects.  She’s very loving, wants to lick you, wants to be with you, and believe it or not, she does tricks to receive her yummy little cat treats.

I guess I just don’t want to be loved as much as dogs want to love me,  but dogs do love me regardless.  I’m not sure what they find so attractive about me,  but anytime I encounter a pooch,  it wants to jump up on me,  lick my face, get in my face for attention, lean on me, sit on me, and/or  follow me around.  If it didn’t sound crazy, I’d think that they have love songs they want to communicate with me.

On my travels yesterday with my husband, we encountered two dogs – one was a large black Newfoundland and the other a Standard French Poodle.  The first dog, the Newfoundland, was surrounded by a huge crowd of people – more than enough people, including several children, to be attracted to and plenty of smells to sniff – but whose hand did he stretch for?  Mine.

I was merely walking past him, yet he spied me and promptly reached out to nuzzle my hand.  I had no scent on my hand like food or lotion, so why was he attracted to me? It was like he was singing, “And when I touch you, I feel happy inside.  It’s such a feeling that my love, I can’t hide, I can’t hide.”  [“I Want to Hold Your Hand” by  The Beatles]

Later, we were walking down a sidewalk at a busy shopping center.  An older gentleman was resting on a park bench with his French Poodle on a leash.   There were numerous people walking by and the poodle was warily observing everyone.  But as we approached, that poodle’s eyes lit up like a Christmas tree, his demeanor changed, and he immediately strained towards me.

I could see that “I want to kiss you all over and over again” [“I Want to Kiss You All Over” by Exile] look in his eyes as his owner tugged him back.  Even my husband noticed the dog’s attention toward me and said, “Why is it that dogs are always attracted to you?”

Many years ago when I picked up my young daughter at her friend’s house, the friend’s dog went berserk.   She wanted to crawl up on me and “kiss” me.   The friend’s mother literally kept pulling the dog off me and apologizing.  Then she actually placed a barrier between me and the furry critter and that pooch jumped over it to get to me!

It was like that little canine was singing, “Ain’t no mountain high enough, ain’t no valley low enough,  ain’t no river wide enough, to keep me from getting to you!” [“Ain’t No Mountain” by Diana Ross]

A good friend of mine owned a well-behaved Rottweiler and I must admit, a dog like that scares me just a little.  Every time I visited my friend’s house, Sasha made a bee-line for me.   No amount of coaxing or even reprimand would keep her away from me.

If I ignored her, she would come to my side and lean heavily on me, (when a strong, sturdy dog like that leans on you,  you pay attention!) and wouldn’t leave my side until her owner dragged her away.   Sasha would then be obedient to her mistress, but turn her sad, pouting eyes on me as if to sing, “Love me, love me, say that you love me.” [Love Me, Love Me by The Cardigans]

blogDSCN6862

My sister’s doggy Peaches

He obviously was singing, “I’m so excited and I just can’t hide it; I’m about to lose control and I think I like it.”  [“I’m So Excited” by the Pointer Sisters] I really would have preferred if he kept his excitement to himself!

My sister’s dog Peaches also practically trips over herself to get my attention.  She meets and greets me at the door more excitedly than the Wal-Mart greeters and will not be content until I pick her up and hold her.

She doesn’t do that for every visitor to their house.  I think she must be singing,  “Hold me, hold me, never let me go until you’ve told me, told me what I want to know and then just hold me, hold me, make me tell you I’m in love with you.”   [“Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me” by Mel Carter]

I’ve been told that I have a kind voice and that’s why dogs gravitate to me.  Maybe that’s what it is, they hear music in my voice and to them the music means love.   I just wish doggies wouldn’t love me quite so much.  They can sing their love songs to me, but I’d rather they kept their smooches to themselves.

©2010 mamasemptynest.wordpress.com

So...what do you think? Tell me. I appreciate your feedback and read each comment. Thank you!

